A quiet, yet painful holiday…

I was aware from the start of the year that this might be a quiet holiday. I have the kids for New Year instead of Xmas, so I anticipated a quiet holiday which sounded alright to me. As an atheist, I really don’t care for the holidays but put up with it for everyone else. So I don’t mind a quiet holiday, but my quiet holiday isn’t that peaceful.

Right after the gallbladder incident, my medical issues kicked things up a notch last week. I have a staph infection, my third in four years. My lower left let started to turn red and purple, and I knew the meds and pain I was going to endure for a few weeks. Once again, my leg looks like someone went to town on it with a tire iron as it’s purple and looks badly bruised. So I’ve spend most of the last several days in bed, resting and taking my meds on time.

My leg hurts like a motherfucker, but because I started my meds a lot earlier it hasn’t been as painful as the earlier attacks. Still hurts but I’ve been suffering in silence and only a few people, like a small handful, know that it’s happening at all. I don’t see the point in advertising my pain, or the point of bumming people out if there’s nothing they can do about it. Letting them play in blissful ignorance is the least I can do during the holidays. I wouldn’t like it if someone was a wet blanket during Xmas, so don’t like doing that myself.

I’ve tried to get some work done but that has been slow… so I’ve been trying to relax and watch movies while keeping my leg elevated. I checked out some cool screeners over the last week. I watched some cool films like Jojo Rabbit which was odd but a charming satire. A Beautiful Day In the Neighborhood was a wonderful film as Tom Hanks nails it as Mr. Rogers… it was a fun movie to watch. I also saw the new Star Wars movie, and while it wasn’t as bad as Last Jedi, it wasn’t as good as Force Awakens. Somewhere in the middle. I watched The Irishman too, and that movie dragggggggged on far too long. That movie needed to cut at least 60 mins out of it. It was alright, but not the epic classic everyone claims it is.

Speaking of movies, I am going to release a top 10 of 2019 before the new year hits. I’ve got a decent list so far… and I think you guys will like it.

Until then, everyone enjoy their holidays!

Peter

Log in to write a note
December 26, 2019

I am sorry you spent your holiday in pain….I hope you feel better now and I hope you have a great New Year with the boys….

December 31, 2019

I hope you are feeling better and the meds are doing their thing,

have a great New Year with your kids!!!