An interesting update…

It’s official: Leah and I have a date with a marriage councellor on November 1st of this year.

The fact that it’s this year is quite surprising, but I’ll take it. We likely could have gotten something earlier but I made a request for a specific time (9am) so that it would interfere with Leah’s job because her new permanent start time is 11am every morning. This way we’ll get to see our counsellor and not lose any worktime, and Chris works afternoons/nights so he’ll be there to watch the kids. This way we both get to sit down and hash things out without having screaming kids around to interfere. That way we’ll get a full quality hour with zero interuptions.

This is going to be a good step for Leah and I. We need the help, because right now our relationship is seriously strained. We’ve been a couple for over ten years, and we’ve been married for nine of them and have two children. We have a lot invested and it would be extremely hard to just end it, break things off and just walk away. This is our way of working through some serious problems we have as a couple that we can’t work through or don’t know how to work through on our own. By going to this councellor, we’ll get the help we need to get past the tough issues that are bogging us down. That way we’ll finally put them into the ground and move past them.

We really needed to make this step cause I don’t think we were going to be able to work out our current problems without some kind of professional help. Leah is very nervous about talking to someone about something so personal, but I’m used to it because I’ve seen a few in my time. I might take the lead when we get there, but try not to dominate too much. I’m hoping she’ll come out of her shell when she sees that it’s easy to communicate and exchange with the councellor, then have her say. I’m hopefuly this will help but we won’t know until we actually go. Needless to say, it’s a big step… one that we both seriously needed to make if we’re serious if we want to keep things together here in the house.

So that’s the big update here in the house. I’m just making it quick so I can post it before OD crashes again. I don’t have time to get into that but I’ll do that later when things are a little more consistent. So until then, take care and I’ll be around, eventually!

Peter

Log in to write a note
September 20, 2007

Good luck dude… I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

September 20, 2007

This is a step in the right direction. I wish you the best of luck.

September 20, 2007

good decision. good luck to you.

September 20, 2007

Good for you guys. I hope it helps a lot. Good luck.

September 20, 2007

Good luck with it.

September 20, 2007

Good luck to you both! *hugs*

September 20, 2007

good luck, you both should be proud of yourselves for doing what is needed,

This is so good!!! It shows you both love each other enough, to want to do the hard work to save the marriage. I am proud of both of you. bighugz. I will keep ya’s in prayer, too!!!! :*))

September 20, 2007

Good Luck!! Ryn: My oldest had them b4 the shot was availble and the middle hasn’t gotten them yet (knock on wood) but my is she covered with them…but thankfully they are beginning to sscab over so hopefully we are on the sownward spiral of it. However she is terrified to go back to school..she is afraid that ppl will make fun of her.

September 21, 2007

I’m glad you guys made this decision. I think it was the harder choice, the more difficult one, so I’m proud you guys decided to give it a chance. Those boys deserve it. So, not to change the subject so drastically, but what are your thoughts on the end of big brother?!?!? 🙂

CW
September 21, 2007

Good for you. =;p

Good luck – a great step

September 21, 2007

Good luck, glad to hear you are trying instead of just giving up like a lot of people do.

September 22, 2007

Good luck