Another year, another mustard festival…

Just like last Labour Day Weekend, Hamilton was tossing another great Mustard Festival… and I took the kids down to take in some Jazz music, some great food and even some animals they got to interact with. It was a lot of fun, and Leah and I had a good time too though Leah didn’t enjoy hanging out with the animals and kept her distance. Last year they had goats and Lamas and stuff like that, but this year they had Parrots from that Bird Santuary and snakes from a local reptile merchant. Now I am petrified of snakes, but I put on a very brave face and took the kids in to have a gander cause Ethan loves to check out lizards and snakes. This time out he got to do more than check them out, he got to pet and even hold some snakes and that freaked him out just a bit. I even got over my own fears long enough to hold a small boa for a few minutes, well long enough to get a few pictures taken as proof that I did it.

Overall, we had a lot of fun… and I have the pictures to prove it. Check these out:


View of the festival and where people sit for the musical performances…)


(Here is Ethan looking at some Parrots in awe…)


(Ethan again, still facinated with the birds.)


(Here’s a pic of the dude incharge of the reptile exhibit, with a small croc.)


(Here is Ethan getting up close and personal with a Boa.)


(Here is Ethan holding on to that Boa’s tail…)


(Here is myself, conquering fear and holding the same boa in my arms.)


(I look at little better here, but it wasn’t as terrifying as I thought it would be.)


(Here is Jonathan in his stroller, up close with a Python of his own…)


(Like Ethan, Jon wasn’t scared and giggled a lot at the snakes.)


(This big yellow and white snake is an elbino python… and it was enormous!)


(Ethan not only got up close to the Elbino Python, he got to pet it a few times too…)


(The same python, taking a little nap.)


(Nice picture of a scorpion and no, it’s not in my hand.)


(They let some of the kids hold a Tarantula, but Ethan wasn’t interested in this one…)


(Don’t remember the name, but this was a big lizard too… pretty freaky tounge, eh?)


(A picture of Ethan walking home while making a mess of himself with Cotton Candy…)


(And a picture of Jon looking very serious…)

So that was our exciting day today… the kids had a lot of fun, and Leah was wide eyed from a distance for much of the snake stuff. I was very scared myself but it felt good to go in there and not let the fear rule my life for a change. Was fun to hole and see the snakes with the boys and have fun. It was a good day had by all, and I hope everyone else had a good Saturday as well. I should be back tomorrow to post some other entries and leave a lot of note love. Until then everyone take care and enjoy the rest of your holiday weekend!

Peter

Log in to write a note
August 30, 2008

Ugh. Snakes. One fear I have no desire to get over!

August 30, 2008

That’s a komodo dragon! I love those.

August 30, 2008

What a nice day you all had. I was home all day here in Abilene Texas. It rained buckkets here all day. So we never got out today!!

August 30, 2008

Ok I would have passed out at the scorpian…I’ll have nightmares now thank you very much!! *shudders*

August 31, 2008

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew… snakes are creepy and mustard makes me sick. Not my kind of place.

August 31, 2008

I forgot it was the mustard festival, love the photos especially that last one of Jon, have fun!

September 2, 2008

Wow, Jonathan’s getting big! I had to laugh at the pics of you holding the snake. You looked like you were putting on a brave face for the boys but inside was thinking, “ARRGHI’mgonnarungonnarungonnarun….” In all seriousness, good for you for facing your fears. Not many would do that, not even for their kids. Sounds like a fun festival. I probably would have enjoyed it.