Balloons, presents and Bowling!

Today was a very interesting day. I took Ethan to the mall because he was invited to a birthday party. It was slated to start at 2pm, so we had plenty of time and I bought what I thought was a resonable gift for the little lady. I picked up a really nice looking sweater/jacket that will look nice for the birthday girl when spring comes around. And I also picked up a book by Beatrice Potter for little ones, and put them both in a fancy bag since wrapping paper is so 20th Century and not very enviromentally PC. Ethan and I also went out for a burger, and had fun at the mall together.

After that I took Ethan home for a little R&R before taking off for the party. It was at a bowling ally, and the cool part is there was a separate kids seciont made just for Birthday parties. Ethan was a little intimidated by the group of kids, and the game but he seemed to get used to it, but I was also there to keep a close eye on him. Ethan seemed to handle himself and remain well behaved for the majority of the party. He got a little rowdy when the Birthday Girl was opening her gifts, as were a couple of other kids… but things turned out all right. Our gift was a big hit with the parents because it was one of the rare gifts that wasn’t a barbie related item.

So overall, Ethan did a hell of a lot better than Leah and I thought he would at the party. He for the most part was patient while waiting for each turn to go bowling, and he didn’t do too bad there either. He didn’t toss the ball too bad and rolled it rather well to knock over a few pins. He had a lot of fun, so much to the point where I might book his part in September there since a lot of fun was had by all kids there… so it might be something for Leah and I to look into for future events.

So that was my Saturday, Leah and I are going to relax and watch a new DVD we recently obtained and just snuggle after the kids hit the sack. Here’s hoping that everyone else had a good night and I’ll be around…

Peter

Log in to write a note
February 23, 2008

They grow up too fast don’t they?

February 23, 2008

Sounds like an awesome day. 🙂

February 24, 2008

I’ve done bowling parties for my kids when they were younger and they were always a blast, glad you and your son had a good time, have a great Sunday!