Books in the mail!

I always love getting new books in the mail, especially when they’re my own.

I ordered six copies of my new book titled The Portal, which is something I like to do when I release a new book. I like to order a few copies to inspect the finished product for myself, and make sure everything looks and feels right.

I’m happy to report that I am very pleased with how things turned out. This book looks amazing, and the story is pretty kickass too. I was worried about the cover because the actual picture I wanted to use was sold before I got a chance to secure it. A shame too cause the picture I was originally considering was amazing and fit the book well, but shit happens and you gotta roll with it.

Some of these books are already reserved, and the others I am going to submit to local bookstores that have agreed to put my books on their shelves. One of the reserved books is for my aunt Trisha who lived in a elderly home in the town next to us. She’s been one of my biggest readers lately and I’m curious to see what she thinks of this book. The other is for the nurse at my IV clinic. My next treatment is this Friday so I’m exited to show off the new book. I usually try to take a few with me to the clinic, cause I sometimes end up selling a few copies too.

My Dad has already read the book and he really liked it. He’s been getting tired of the satire and drama books, and was happy to see me write a new action/thriller for him to enjoy as it’s actually his preferred genre. I realized through observation that my Dad is actually a very big police thriller fan, so I’m seriously considering tackling that genre for this November’s Nano to surprise him.  I never like to pin myself down to a specific genre, and try to stray everywhere. Technically, I’ve already written two detective/mystery books, but those were ghost novels I wrote for other clients. I can’t tell my Dad about them cause I signed a NDA. So I have written this genre before and will have no problem duplicating it again. I don’t mind doing someone else’s homework, especially if the price is right but since I’ve already had good practice, I’ll write dad a killer police/detective book and knock his socks off this winter.

In the meantime, I have other comic books and manuscripts I’m working on right no to get back to. I plan to do a full afternoon of writing once the little guy goes home. So until then, I hope everyone else has a bitchin’ weekend and enjoys watching 3 Billboards sweep the Oscars tonight!

Cheers,

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
March 4, 2018

Awesome!!!

March 4, 2018

May I ask, how many books have you written? Congratulations on the completion of your newest novel.

March 5, 2018

@wildrose_2 I have 29 works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry posted on my Smashwords account, which can be found here:

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/pjlowry

I have also written over a dozen “Ghost novels” for other writers, who paid very well for my services. I also signed strict NDAs, so don’t even ask.

March 4, 2018

Very cool!! Congrats and here’s to many more:))

March 4, 2018

So envious of people like yourself with the dedication, discipline and commitment to finish not just one – but several books! Well done – and I say that through gritted teeth! 🙂

March 4, 2018

Congratulations! I love hearing about authors among us here. My son is deputy, I wonder if he’d like reading this.

March 5, 2018

How awesome!

March 28, 2018

I’ll have to look for your book, as I LOVE LOVE LOVE reading and new books.  I got a new one yesterday – “Russian Roulette.”  It’s all about the Russians and their interference in the 2016 election.  Hope your book sells like crazy!