Dad got hitched…

The end of the month will mark three years since my mother passed away, and last weekend my Dad got remarried. I am not upset about this, and am actually surprised it didn’t happen sooner. My new step-mother is a nice person who actually knew both of my parents for a very long time. So I’ve known this person most of my life, and am very happy for my Dad and his new wife. Some people might suggest that less than 3 years is quick, but I’m not upset in the slightest. My Dad is 68 and he deserves to be happy, while he’s still got some time left. He appears to be and it appears they are going to both have happy life and marriage. Don’t we all want that for the people we care about?

To be honest, I was a little annoyed over the weekend but it had nothing to do with my Dad’s ceremony. I was a little off because of the location, which was the same location where I first got married… exactly twenty years and thirty days prior. Being in the same place where I got hitched, and the fact that my ex was there as well was a little awkward for me. I hope that awkwardness wasn’t visible, but I did my best to not say anything and carry on as best as I could. It was the first time I had entered that building since I was wed, and it all looked the same, so I had serious deja vu going on.

Another issue was I wasn’t very active all day. Sure, I did my best to be helpful when I could and even did some of the Groomsman’s work when I didn’t have to… but I didn’t mingle too much, and barely danced during the reception. I am less than a week away from my next IV infusion, and that’s when I experience a fair bit of pain. I was very uncomfortable, but I went through the pain and just lied my ass off. I’m fine, I’m doing alright, I’m just tired… a few examples of what I do to deflect when it’s apparent that I’m hurting.

The interesting thing about my new Step-mom, is she smells the BS like a fart in a car. Like my mother was before, Step-Mom is a nurse, so she can tell what’s going on without even having to ask. Another bonus is I don’t have to explain to her what AS is… she gets it. Well, she gets it way, way more than my father does, who still doesn’t understand after several attempts to explain. I’m hoping that Step-mom will have better success since he’ll likely listen to her professional opinion with more sympathy. We can only hope.

But to get back on track here: I’m happy for my Dad. I’m not jealous in anyway, and am rooting for him to be happy and at peace.

I’m unsure if I’ll ever marry again, but I’m starting to think it’s not in the cards. I’ll leave the door open to the possibility, but forgive me if I don’t hold my breath.

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2018

If you did hold your breath I think you might turn blue and I don’t want that to happen.  But you are not so I don’t need to worry.  The one thing I don’t get is why your ex was at the wedding?  I am not sure I would have invited her.  I am sorry it was awkward for you and you didn’t have a good time…you should have had more fun.

October 3, 2018

@jaythesmartone It wasn’t my wedding, so if my Dad is still close to her and wants to invite her… that’s his call. It was awkward, yes, but everyone was civil and nice.

October 3, 2018

I think that’s great.  It gives them both another chance at happiness.  And I like your attitude too.  So often older children are not happy when their parents re-marry.

October 4, 2018

congrats to your Dad and his new wife, it’s always an adjustment adding to the family but it’s so nice to hear you welcome her so readily,

October 16, 2018

that would be terribly awkward! I’m glad you found a way to manage it.
you never know what might happen 🙂