Dates & Tests… lots of good news!

Alright, time for an update…

Date #2 was pretty awesome. Rather than shell out big bucks on a fancy place, which is what we did last time… she asked if we could pick up some kibobs at the grocery store and just BBQ up something and have a salad with it. I’m all for something home cooked so no arm twisting was required. She also told me that there are no kids are her place this weekend so she politely hinted that I might want to pack an overnight bag. I had no plans that weekend so again, no arm twisting required. I ended up spending the whole weekend at her place and had a really great time.

On Saturday I watched her get her nails done, and then we hit a local theatre to see the new movie Yesterday, which was pretty awesome. It was a great choice for a date movie too… as it was very romantic and a great movie for beatles fans. There was a part at the end that had me tearing up and it was just an awesome movie. Best film I’ve seen this year so far… definitely top ten for sure!

Sunday morning, I made omelets for breakfast and we watched the Wimbledon finals, which was fun cause we are both pretty big fans of tennis. So again, no arm twisting required. So as far as second dates go, that was pretty awesome. We also spent a lot of time together cause we knew this might be our last chance as the boys come back from Newfoundland and we might have to wait a few weeks before date #3, so we packed up as much as we could in that one weekend.

Considering that I had some pretty big tests hanging over my head, that weekend was a very welcome distraction. Speaking of those tests, I got the results to the both within a 24 hour period.

Result #1: Lung biopsy

It was negative. No Cancer. (Whew)

I still might need surgery to remove the mass so it doesn’t obstruct my lung, but at least I won’t need any kemo or radiation.

Result #2: The paternity test

I took a DNA test last week because my dad and others wanted to be 100% sure. The test said my DNA is a 99.9999997% match with Katherine. The tech said anything above 95% is a positive for paternity, so I guess that’s a good result. So when someone asks me if I’m sure she’s mine… my answer will be that I’m 99.9999997% sure. That’s going to be my new favorite line.

Also when Kat is a snooty teen years from now and says something mean like she wishes I wasn’t her father, I can whip out the test results and say sorry sport, you’re stuck with me and I can mathematically prove it!

So I happen to think things are going rather well to start the summer. I got a new kid, no cancer, and a chick that appears to really dig me. The boys return next weekend and I look forward to spending time with them too.

I also just found out that one of my favorite bands is going to be in Toronto two days after my birthday! I’m gonna have to grab some tickets to that and check it out. I say this because now I’ve got something awesome to motivate me to get my ass back to work!

So that’s what I’m going to do. Back to the ol’ grindstone.

Take care everyone, and have a bitchin’ Friday!

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2019

This is like the most positive diary entry of all time. Great start to the summer, and it’s Friday too! I’ll crack open a beer with you.

July 19, 2019

I was so worried about your one test result and I am so glad that you don’t have that horrible “C” word.  And as for the paternity I did not know, but glad you are going to be a dad again.  And I think this new one really likes you and there is a future for both of you.  When is she going to meet your boys?

July 19, 2019

Congratulations on both of the good test results!

July 19, 2019

@thediarymaster Thank you… OD is stuck with me for a little bit longer.

July 22, 2019

@peter_24601 I’m very glad for that 🙂

July 22, 2019

@thediarymaster Thank you, still waiting on getting some new circles… mostly the return of the Politics Circle, and making a new one for Atheism.

July 23, 2019

congrats!!!