Good bye 2020; don’t let the door hit you on the way out!

To say 2020 has been an interesting year would be quite the understatement.

It’s been quite a shit storm but I’m less than twelve hours away from checking out of 2020, and I am counting the hours and minutes. It wasn’t what I would call a terrible year for me, but it wasn’t anywhere near great either. It was more of a Blah kind of year for me and considering the crap everyone else was putting up with over the last 12 months, I’ll take it.

I’ve been keeping busy here at the apartment, doing my writing, binging shows and playing games online. Working on comic books, novels and other works is the same old, same old for me, but watching Katherine has been a lot of fun as well. Since her mom went back to work in October, I’ve been watching Kat to help her mom save oodles of dollars in unnecessary daycare expenses. While some might think I’m being taken advantage of, I disagree. I’m the one who gets to spend a lot of hours with my daughter, which is important time to bond with her. That makes me the real winner here people, as well as my little Kit Kat.

I had the boys for Xmas this year, and we did the gift stuff and the basics, but had no tree. To prevent Ethan from getting turkey overload over the holidays, I chose to make something different to make the Ex’s turkey day less stressful for all involved. I put a leg of lamb into the crockpot with various veggies and cooked that fucker on high for six hours. Ethan always wanted to try that, and it was a big hit with both kids. Little pricey, but I wasn’t in the mood for turkey either so I was happy to do it.

Once again, Dad got only two things for Xmas; Jack and Shit, and Jack left town. I’m not broken up about it, because like I said earlier, everyone else around the world has had a pretty shitty year, and I have not so I’m happy to have my health, rent paid and food in the fridge. Given the year we’re having, once again I will take that and run before Karma changes her mind. The quickest way to joy is to be grateful for what you have, rather than pine for what you do not. My kids are happy and healthy, I haven’t lost a single person to Covid (knock on wood), and it looks like I will make it out of 2020 in one piece. I’m good.

Over the last few months, I’ve also been keeping up with the Master Classes as well, doing them two days a week, cutting down a tiny bit since I started watching Kat. Right now I’m doing a screenwriting class by Shonda Rhimes, a home cooking class by Alice Waters, and a class about comedy writing by Judd Apatow. I’ve completed over twelve Master Classes this year, and I’ve learned quite a bit from all of them. I recently finished classes by writers Dan Brown and David Baldacci, and I found them both very inspiring, but oddly repetitive. I took a class taught by Rupaul, and that was very fascinating as he spoke a lot about life and being confident in yourself. So I’ve been enjoying the MasterClasses, and I plan to keep this pace up in 2021. They’re about to release a writing class by Salman Rushdie, and that looks very interesting!

I apologize for not writing much here, but I plan to do more in 2021. I considered doing a best movies of 2020 entry, but then I remembered that while I’ve watched more than enough movies… I only went to the movie theatre ONCE all year. That’s it, just one time all year. Everything else was via On Demand with my TV, or the torrents… whichever was faster. The only movie I saw on a big screen this year was the Guy Richie movie titled “The Gentlemen” which starred Matthew McConaughey, Charlie Hunnam, and Colin Farrell. This movie was fucking amazing, as I love Guy Richie dramas, and it was Hugh Grant who stole every scene that he was in and then some. If it wasn’t cancelled, I think Hugh was worth of a nom for Best Supporting. If you haven’t seen it, I’d highly recommend it, cause it would have been in my top 5 this year if I did make a list.

My friends in Asia are already in 2021, and they’re doing alright so far… so it seems safe. We’ll be there soon as well.

Catch you on the flip side, OD.

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
December 31, 2020

I hope your ex realizes just how lucky she is to have someone who will look after their child for free and save all that money and you being with her she probably won’t get Covid or anything else….I can’t ever understand why anyone would be sending their under 5 child to day care when there is a pandemic and people are getting sick and dying.  And this will be a memory she will always remember….

January 2, 2021

Happy New Year, I’m going to look into those master classes, sounds interesting!