Hanging out with the little guy…

Earlier today I got a call from Jonathan’s school. It appears that he was having some bowel issues, and was being sent home. I got the call because Leah was still at work and not answering her phone. I happened to be hanging out with my Dad at the time so we jump into his hybrid and took off to get Jon. I could tell by the tone in Leah’s voice that she wanted to nap before going back to work (she does a split shift), so I volunteered to take Jon for the rest of the day and drop him off later.

Once you pick Jon up from school, you can’t send him back. That would make his day too chaotic so there was no point trying to send him especially since his bowels are likely going to keep acting up. Since Leah has to go back to work later in the day, it just made more sense for me to watch him until after school rather than pay the after school nanny an extra hour. He’s been chilling with the TV and computer, just doing his usual thing. No signs of bowel trouble but I’ve been restricting what he eats to minimize that. Toast instead of soft bread, apple sauce instead of yogurt. Simple changes to help him along.

I don’t mind spending extra time with my boys. It’s not like I had plans for today, so I was happy to take him and hang. Leah’s fiancé will pick up Jon after he gets home from work.

Oh wait, there’s something I likely forgot to update you guys on!

Leah got engaged earlier this year and plans to wed for the second time in two years. I’m not bitter or hostile about it… as the guy she’s hitching with is a pretty decent chap. My first instinct is to tell him to run away but he seems pretty happy too so I pass on that. He’s good to the boys and is a nice guy, so what more could you ask for when accepting what was eventually going to happen regardless… right?

Shawn is a nice guy, and I have the feeling that if he ever becomes an ex one day that I’ll be buying the first round and we’ll be good friends. I do my best to be supportive, helpful and not be a royal pain in the ass. I don’t want to be that kind of ex-husband, despite what happened in the past. When it’s all said and done, I love my kids a hell of a lot more than I hate my ex. That means their happiness comes first and being respectful to their mother and their new future step-dad is required to avoid conflict and keep everyone happy.

 So it’s just me and Jon chillin’ at the crib, waiting for the school day to end. There are worse ways to spend the day. Just saying…

Peter

Log in to write a note
October 25, 2017

That’s awesome that you have time to be together, any time spent with your children is not wasted, I think.