In the last weeks of summer…

This summer is in its home stretch, and I am spending the last two weeks of August with my boys. Leah is going to be working the whole two weeks, so by taking the boys she saves a boatload of cabbage in childcare costs. She did make a donation to help cover groceries, which was super helpful. She didn’t have to do it, but I’ve never said she wasn’t a good mother. She loves those boys a hell of a lot more than she hates me.

I never say no to extra time, so I’m happy to have the boys here. With Grandpa home from the States, I took advantage and took Gramps, my brother and the boys to a ball game last week. We watched our Jays crush the Orioles, and fun was had by all. Ethan was really into the game, but I guess its easier to have fun when you team wins so handily. It was nice to have all the boys out for a big event.

My little brother wasn’t able to make it, but that’s just Matt. He rarely if ever shows up for anything as he’s slowly becoming a hermit just like the grandfather on my Mom’s side. We did have a new brother to add into the mix, as a young man named Andrew came with us. With my dad getting married next month, I have a few new step bros and even a step sister to interact with.

With hockey and basketball season around the corner, I might try to take the boys to more games if I can afford them. Both my teams made some big moves in the off season so I think tickets might be a tad high.

Summer might be almost through, but the fall will be just as fun as I have some decent plans for the back half of the year. I’m making plans to do something special with Ethan for his birthday, but haven’t decided yet. I’m still eyeing a Maroon 5 concert that is coming to Toronto at the end of September too. There’s another show I’m looking at for my own Birthday, but I might pass on it for something simpler that day. I’ve done enough this summer so I might close out year 42 with a whimper rather than a bang.

When I give the boys back to their Mom on Friday, they get to hit the trailer for one more fun weekend before heading back to school the next week after labour day. I realize the US students are already back, but in Canada we have one last break before hitting the books again. I think it works better that way, get one more big weekend out of your system before hitting the grind.

For me, this weekend will be different than the boys, as I’ll be attending Fan Expo again with some friends. It should be a blast like years past and I intend to have fun this year, because next Expo might be all work as my comic company will likely buy a table next time. So I might get an autograph or two, maybe even a nice pic like I did last year.

And what pic am I referring to, you say? Here ya go:

I got this snazzy pic with actress Famke Janssen last summer, after waiting in a very long line. This pic turned out rather well, and I’m a big fan of her work in X-Men, Taken, Nip/Tuck and a whole whack of other stuff. I even sat in on her panel and that was interesting as well.

I haven’t decided who I will get a pic with this year, but there are a few interesting options I am considering this year. The Stargate fan in me wants to get a pic with Richard Dean Anderson, as he doesn’t do these events very often. I will sit in on a few panels, especially if there are an that are about writing as I am not above getting advice and learning more about my craft.

So that’s my plan to end the summer, I hope everyone else is enjoying their week.

Cheers,

Peter

Log in to write a note
August 28, 2018

sounds like you are going to have a very productive year……Glad you got to see your boys before school starts.

September 11, 2018

Panels do look interesting. A writing one would be fantastic.
That’s a great pic. These actresses though. They just don’t look real! lol It’s astounding.