January marches on…

Already half way through the month of January. I swear if you blink it will be mid-December…

Last week I booked my flight for my second trip to Orlando. I will be going back to visit my father in March, just in time to catch a few spring training games before the baseball season starts. I also booked tickets to see a Tampa Bay Lightning game. By mere coincidence, my beloved Toronto Maple Leafs will be playing the Lightning the same week I’m down there, so I nabbed three tickets for a rather sweet deal (thank you Stub Hub) and will be packing my leafs jersey to represent!

One of my Dad’s closest friends who helped him find his new home for retirement is also a huge Leaf fan, so I nabbed a ticket from him as well thank him for all the help he provided last year when my dad was looking for a place and when he moved down there. I’ve know this guy since childhood too, so it will be nice to enjoy the game with the both of them.

Prices to Orlando are a lot cheaper for me as well since there are so many flights going there as opposed to the other cities I’ve flown to in the past like Nashville. I also get direct flights now as well so no pesky stopovers, which is a nice change. My Dad also liked having me visit last time so he’s excited to see me again.

So that gives me something to look forward to while I work away for the next few months. I always like to have something ahead to motivate me to keep working, something to save my pennies up for so I can have some more spending money while I’m down there.

So I’m going to spend most of my winter bunkered in at home, working on my writing and staying out of the cold. I’ll occasionally venture out every now and then when necessary, but after the incident I had last winter I’m more hesitant to go out there as much. I had an unfortunate accident one day when venturing to watch the boys after school last January, as I slipped on a patch of ice and had gotten a mild concussion. Despite the concussion, I still walked to her place and took care of the kids before heading out for the hospital. So with all the ice and slush outside, I’m not that eager to go outside and get some fresh air. I’ll stay home drinking tea, play world of warcraft and watch Maury to find out who’s the daddy until the snow melts.

I was never the biggest fan of winter, but I try my best to get along with it. Most of the time I fail, but as long as the heat doesn’t cut out and I still have cable and internet, I’ll survive.

Speaking of work, those comic books and novels are not going to write themselves. Take care my fellow beta testers and I’ll see you around!

Peter

 

 

Log in to write a note
March 2, 2018

ugh. ice. I’m nursing (probably overly much but this method has worked for me before) an injured knee bc of a crooked sidewalk (very embarrassing and public fall) and ice in our laneway 😡