My Old Man (RIP)

My father passed away today… and while I haven’t talked to the man in years, his passing still hits me in the feels.

While a part of me missed the opportunities we both missed over the years, I’m not sorry for how things ended between us. I would never apologize for standing up for my kids, and wouldn’t change a thing despite the bridges that were torched.

My brothers are taking this a lot harder than I am, but I will do what I can to be there for them. Like what we did for Mom when she passed away in 2016, we’re going to hold a memorial event for Dad next month to give people a chance to fly over if they want to attend.

I’m a little shocked and broken up, but it is what it is. 72 years is a decent lifespan, and while he will be missed… he had a good life.

I’ll try to be around, but make no promises.

Peter

Log in to write a note
August 23, 2022

so sorry

August 23, 2022

Losing your parents is always a strange time in one’s life, again I am sorry for your loss.