No streak lasts forever…

Joe Dimaggio’s streak ended at 56. Cal Ripken Junior’s at 2,632.

My streak, while significantly less important, ends at 12. As in 12 straight years, but no further.

First the first time in 13 years, Nanowrimo ended with the bitter taste of defeat.

I didn’t cross the finish line for the first time since I started participating in the event.

It’s an understatement to say that this year’s Nano was a struggle, but it was. I’ve been struggling to write all year. So much that I even considered skipping Nano this year. There are a lot of things I skipped this year, and a part of me didn’t want to add Nano to that list.

This stroke has made 2018 a little more difficult than I’m willing to admit, but I’m working hard to make sure that I get better. The point is while this streak has ended, I’ll just have to try again next year and start a new streak.

Now it’s not like I didn’t do anything. I still wrote something this month. Not as much as I needed to, but at this point some material done in November is a lot better than nothing, which was something I seriously considered doing. I got some stuff written down, which is a good start.

There’s a lot of projects I wanted to finish this year, and I didn’t get even half of them done. It’s frustrating, but I can still do it. It’s just going to take a little more time, that’s all.

I can’t believe it’s already December. Before you know it, it will be 2019.

I’ll try again next year, and hopefully we’ll get a better result. I’m too stubborn not to.

Hey, I never said I was perfect… just awesome.

Peter

Log in to write a note
December 3, 2018

Question…Can you continue this “nano” till you finish it? or do you have to wait till next year?  And when people do fisnish their nano in the month can they get the book or whatever published?

December 3, 2018

In all my years on OD I have never participated in one of the special months. I think I just have an aversion to anything ending in ‘o’. I wouldn’t judge yourself too harshly, nobody else will.

December 4, 2018

adapt and adjust it’s all we can do,

can’t wait for the new year to begin now, lol

December 10, 2018

like you said, it’s not like you did nothing! 🙂 you have a lot going on and it seems like you barely took a break from it all after the stroke.
Agreed; I can’t believe it’s Dec!