Omelets and Muffins…

Not only did I have I yesterday off, I have tomorrow off which I like to call a ‘mid-week’ weekend. Since I gave up my full weekend off and volunteered to work on a holiday (New Years)… I was rewarded by the bubble who make the schedules by have two days off in a row which is like having a weekend, expect that everything is not close and you can actually get stuff done. So to start the first day off on the right foot, I thought it would be fun to cook something for Ethan to have for breakfast.

So what I did was grab this huge cookbook that my Mom gave Leah for Xmas, and looked up something to make the little guy for breaky. What I did was follow the instructions percisely, and I ended up making Ethan a Ham and cheese Omelet. Leah also got some new kickass non-stick pans and it made the Omelet super easy to make. Usually when I try to make an Omlete, it usually turns into scrambled eggs, but not this time as the pan made the omelet a reality. Not only did I make one for Ethan, I also made one for Leah. Grandma 24601 didn’t want one, only her morning coffee, and I wasn’t hungry so that was all I had to do for breakfast.

So here is the recipe that I used to make the Omelet, but I added the ham and cheese on my own, I guess you can make your own substitution. Here’s how to make what was a kickass Omlette:

Peter’s Ham & Cheese Omelet

– 2 eggs
– 2 tablespoons of water
– 1/2 teaspoon of salt
– dash of black pepper
– 1 tablespoon of margarine
– 1/3 Cup of chopped Ham Cubes
– one kraft cheese slice

1. in a small bowl combine eggs, water, salt and pepper. Beat until combined but not frothy with a fork. Heat an 8-inch nonstick skillet with medium heat and the margarine.

2. When the margarine has fully melted, add mixture to skillet. With a wooden spoon, begin stirring only the middle.

3. Once it looks like you have chunks in the middle, lower heat and allow to set. Once it starts to look solid, add the Ham and cheese or toppings of choice in the middle.

4. After a minute or two, fold the Omlette over in half so you’ll have a half moon shape, and then flip to cook the thing shut.

5. Serve on a plate, and it feeds one person.

I managed to make two of these badboys yesterday morning, and they turned out amazing. Leah was pleasently surprised which was cool cause she deserved to have someone wait on her after all the hard work she’s been doing lately. After that, Leah and I took off for the mall. We had to make out a money order for our rent, and then I went to visit my doctor. After that we, skipped across the street and paid our rent. After that Leah and I went out for lunch, and managed to chat a bit over the next hour or so before catching a bus home. It was nice of Grandma 24601 to let us have that time cause we were able to talk and have a little alone time even if we were doing normal errands. Even those are more fun when you’re doing them without the kids.

After Jonathan was fed and resting, and Ethan was settling down himself, I was flipping through that cookbook again. I found a recipe that we happen to have all the items to make it out of with, and thought it was time to try again and make something else. Leah thought I was nuts, but you’d be surprised what a man is capable of when he actually follows instructions to a tee. So what did I end up making? I’m sure many of you could tell from the title that I baked some muffins, but not just any kind of muffins. I ended up making Banana Chocolate Chip muffins. They only took 45-50 minutes to whip up, and they turned out amazing! Leah couldn’t believe what I was doing, and my Mom was a tad shocked that I wanted to do this but truth is that I wanted to make these all for Ethan and Leah and that was all the modivation I needed.

Ethan was already asleep, so he couldn’t have any… so we all had muffins while watching CSI last night. There are plenty left so Ethan can have one for a snack later today. So for those who want to give it a try, here is my recipe for Banana Chocolate Chip muffins!

Peter’s Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

– 1 3/4 cups of all purpose flour
– 1/3 cup of sugar
– 2 teaspoons of baking powder
– 1/2 teaspoon of salt
– 1 beaten egg
– 1/3 cup of milk
– 1/4 cup of cooking oil
– 2 mashed bananas
– 1 cup of chocolate chips

1. Grease twelve 2-inch muffin cups (I used Pam) then set aside.

2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

3. In a medium bowl combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt and set aside as well.

4. Mash the two bananas in a second bowl and add chocolate chips.

5. Taken the beaten egg, milk and oil and combine in a third bowl. After a few stirs, add to the first bowl with the dry mixture. After stirring the contents for a few minutes, add the banana/chocolate chip mixture and stir again until ready to add to cups.

6. Spoon batter into the cups until all twleve are even in height and then place into the oven for 18 minutes. Allow them to cool for ten minutes before serving…

Sounds pretty awesome, eh?

The muffins turned out amazing, and I hope that Leah doesn’t feel too threatened cause I’m invading the kitchen. I’m only trying to help out and I actually enjoyed making them for her and Ethan. To be honest, I was only going to make banana muffins, but it was my Mom’s idea to add the chocolate chips, which did make for a much better muffin. After eating the muffins and watching CSI, we all called it a might.

So today I’m feeling a little confident after yesterday’s succesful meals. I’m thinking of looking something up in the book to make for supper today for Mom & Leah. I’m not sure what it will be but I’m thinking of making a beef stew in the crock pot again. I’m looking into it, I’ll get back to you guys on this. But the cool thing is that I’m doing all right during my two days off and while I was out of the house yesterday, I’m going to stay home today and just relax. Hope everyone else is having a good week and I’ll be around.

Peter

Log in to write a note
January 6, 2006

I would officially like to offer you an invitation to be my Muffin Chef. And also my doctor, since your note about wine was splendid. Such beautiful ideas you have. Enjoy whatever days off you have left, and thank you for the great advice. :o) xxx

the muffins sound yummy! Im defentily going to try the recipe out 🙂 Thanks

January 6, 2006

Both sounds yummy. I am not very good with making eggs but I will try =)

January 8, 2006

Being OCD as I am, just thought I’d pass along the two accepted spellings of the word: omelet and omelette 🙂