Peter’s Almighty Chili of Doom…

Today is Leah’s birthday, and to celebrate… I offered to make her anything she felt like eating tonight. She hinted that she was in the mood for Chili, and said that while she did like the Chili I made over a month ago, she found that it had no kick and really wasn’t very spicy. Well, after doing a little experimenting this morning, there is a new batch of chili cooking in the crock pot, and I’ve got it on low and will have it slowly baking for ten hours to make sure its got some great taste.

This time however… Leah will find it very, very spicy as I’ve managed to whip up my own recipe that that I think will smoke the last chilli I made. I was actually testing it at the five hour mark and thought to myself that it wasn’t too bad spice wise. Then I felt my forehead and realized I was sweating. Oh yeah, this batch has bite. I hope Leah likes it too…

For your enjoyment, here is the recipe for my new Chili. Enjoy!

Peter’s Almighty Chili Of Doom

INGREDIENTS:

– 2 pounds of lean ground beef
– 1 can (13 ounce) of Tomato Paste
– 1 can (20 ounce) of Tomato Sauce
– 1 can of Ro-Tel diced Tomatos & Green Chilies
– 1 diced green pepper
– 1/2 diced onion
– 14 fresh mushrooms
– 2 cloves of garlic (Chopped or Minced)
– 8 tablespoons of Chili powder
– 4 tablespoons of Basil
– 3 tablespoons of black pepper
– 1-2 tablespoons of Salt

DIRECTIONS:

1) Chop up the mushrooms and then place them on frying pan to carmalize, cook for about five to ten minutes before adding the ground beef. Cook the ground beef until browned.

2) While the mushrooms and beef cook, place the paste, sauce, peppers and all other solid ingredients into a crock pot.

3) Mix the stuff well before adding in the beef and mushrooms. Stir again and turn crock pot on low setting.

4) Two hours into cooking, add the dry mixture (Chili Powder, Bazil and Black Pepper) into the crock pot. Mix well, and allow it to cook on low for an additional eight hours.

And that’s it folks. It’s not a hard dish to make, and the crock pot really does all the work while you come back every 60-90 minutes to stir the pot to make sure nothing sticks and burns to the sides. You can cook at high for about 5-6 hours, but I find that it burns too quickly, so I prefer to cook at low for 10 hours to allow the flavor to bake nice and slow. Should be fun to eat… and of course the cook gets to nibble just to make sure its perfect.

So that’s my plan for Leah’s birthday, and tomorrow when I get my next cheque… I do plan to get her a small but special present. Don’t know yet but I’ll find something. So I’m going to go back to cleaning the house for Leah while Ethan is taking his nap. Everyone have a great day and I’ll be around…

Peter

Log in to write a note
September 22, 2005

Spicy? I don’t see haberneros, chipotles or even cayenne in there 🙂

Interesting to see how people’s chili recipes can vary so greatly, you know? Up until I was in college, I’d only had my family’s chili, and just assumed that was the only way to make it. Then I started eating at friends’ houses and they’d make chili, and it was totally different from what my mom made, like this one is. . .but it’s all good. Rotel is an interesting addition. Maybe I’ll try that.:)

October 7, 2005

Oooh, crock-pot recipe! Mine’s only tiny, though – how big is your crock-pot and how much does it take to fill it? I might have to do some resizing.