Recipe: Butter Chicken…

Nothing makes someone feel better sometimes than trying something new in the kitchen. This is one of my favorite Indian dishes… and since Leah couldn’t be dragged anywhere near a place that served Indian cuisine… I thought I would bring the cuisine to her. I went online and found a great recipe that while excotic with some of it’s ingredients looked amazing when finished. Here is the recipe along with a few pictures of the meal…

I’m a huge fan of Indian food, and I’m hoping it goes over well. Take a can gander at how it turned out. I think it went well…

Peter

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into chunks
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp garlic, crushed
  • 1 tsp ginger, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 2 Tbsp ground almonds
  • 220 g can of whole peeled tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 Tbsp natural yoghurt
  • 2 Tbsp fresh coriander or spinach, chopped
  • salt & Pepper

    Step 1: Heat the oil and begin to fry the chicken. Using a large frying pan, heat the vegetable oil and add the chicken.

    Step 2: Fry for 3-4 minutes or until cooked to your liking.

    Step 3: Take the chicken out of the frying pan and put it aside.

    Step 4: In the same pan, melt the butter.

    Step 5: Fry the onion with the cinnamon.

    Step 6: Add the remaining ingredients. At this point add the crushed garlic, crushed ginger, turmeric, chilli powder, almonds, peeled tomatoes, tomato paste and the natural yoghurt. Stir all of the ingredients together and mix thoroughly.

    Step 7: Return the chicken. Put the chicken back into the pan and combine with the other ingredients.

    Step 8: Add the fresh coriander. To compliment the dish, add the coriander and mix with the sauce.

    Step 9: Serve ontop of a bed of rice, and enjoy!


    (Here’s the chicken after I chopped and cooked it. I used 4 skinless breasts)


    (Here are the onions and cinnimon cooking with the butter.)


    (I hate making rice on the stove, so I have my handy rice cooker!)


    (Here is what the sauce looks like after all other ingredients and chicken are added!)


    (The white rice looks ready to go too!)


    (And here is the finished producted, Butter Chicken ready to serve…)

  • Log in to write a note

    Yum. I love Indian food. Love it.

    September 14, 2007

    yummy!! I’ll have to try that one

    September 16, 2007

    Wow, that doesn’t sound all that hard… maybe even I could do that….

    March 21, 2008

    I love my rice cooker. (We got it last Christmas.) I like what little Indian food I’ve tried but I can’t get Coby to try it either. He doesn’t like things with a tomato base and he doesn’t like anything spicy and doesn’t believe me when I tell him I’ve had non-spicy Indian food. Anyway, it looks yummy!