Recipe: Salsbury Steak

Chris out of the blue got called in for an interview, and that same afternoon… he got called in for his first shift. Great news, but that left poor me to work on supper with no notice. It’s not that I mind, but Chris is the cook cause he used to work a short order kitchen. But I had some stuff to work with and improvised. I hit the kitchen and used the folling ingredients:

  • 2 lbs. of Ground Beef
  • 3 slices of bread (for bread crumbs)
  • 1/2 Cup of BBQ Sauce
  • Little squirt of mustard
  • 1 package of dry onion soup mix
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt & pepper

    So what I did was take all of the above, and mash it together in a big bowl. I couldn’t find Leah’s food processor, so I used my cocktail blender to get my bread crumbs. Ackward, but effective. So back to the mashing… there’s nothing like getting your hands dirty and like when making a Meat Loaf, you had to mash the crap out of this to make sure everything was sufficantly mixed up. Once mixed well, I padded them out into four even paddies… so we’re looking at a half pound per paddle. Once ready, the first thing I did was fry them on a pan. Once they were cooked on the outside to my liking, I turned the oven up to 375 and tossed all four in there for 25 minutes so that they would cook all the way through without turning the outide to tar black.

    They turned out really well, and sided with mashed potatoes, peaches & Creme corn and gravy… it made a kickass meal. The kids have been picky, but I’m glad to say they ate it all up and loved it! That was an added bonus, cause I was afraid the kids wouldn’t eat it, especailly Ethan. So it turned out well, and I have the pictures to prove it! Take a gander, cause they looked good too!

    So that was my highlight of the day. Hopefully everyone had a great Tuesday and I’ll be around. Until then, take care…

    Peter


    (A picture of our ingredients… well, most of them)


    (Here are the paddies, ready to cook)


    (The first step, frying them…)


    (When they were finished, I covered and then tossed this pan in the oven)


    (Here is the finished product. Pretty sweet, eh?)


    (Here is Ethan, munching away on his meal…)


    (Here is the setup for Leah, waiting for her to come back from work…)

  • Log in to write a note
    September 4, 2007

    Bottle of wine… nice touch! You seem to be one of those who approaches cooking as an art rather than a science. Cool. Boys never do get over the desire to sink their hands in a pile of guck and mash it about, I suppose. :p

    September 5, 2007

    Awww how sweet the last picture is! Looks yummy too!

    Save me dinner, I’ll be on the red eye flight! Ha-Ha. Peter, this looks delicous!

    What a great meal you made!!!!! That table for Leah & you looks so good!!!!! bighugz.