Summer time! Let the good times roll!

The boys finished another year at school and I couldn’t be more proud of them. Ethan managed to get through his year as a minor niner, and did so without any incident or lifetime scaring of any kind… which is more than what I could have hoped for. Ethan was also lucky to get such a great school, one that isn’t too big and compliments his creative side better than any other school in the district would.

The best part is I’m going to have the boys for most of the summer. Out of eight weeks, I’m going to have one or both of them for at least 5 of them. I’m okay with this because I work from home and this saves my ex a lot of money that doesn’t have to be paid to a sitter. I love spending time with my boys and money saved is more money used for them so everyone wins here.

Jon is going to attend summer camp in mid July, but Ethan doesn’t want to go this year, so he’ll spend a week and a half with me. That’s fine by me and I have some great stuff planned for that week. We’re going to hit another art gallery, maybe a museum, and during the weekend of that solo week with Ethan, I have two tickets to see Yanni in Toronto. This tour is to celebrate the 25th anniversary of his live Acropolis album, so it’s going to be a kickass show.  Ethan is excited about it as he’s heard me play that album when I write so he’s looking forward to the show.

I’m also making plans to do a few things with grandpa this summer. Dad doesn’t spend a lot of time with the boys, so I’m gonna try to make sure they do some cool things this summer. We’re going to hit the dome for a few baseball games, and do a few summer festivals too. Tom Cochrane is going to do a free concert on Aug 5th here in the Hammer, so I’m gonna take the boys, grandad, and my brother Chris to that one since it’s on a Sunday and he won’t be working.

So I’ve got some good ideas for the summer, and I think the boys will enjoy having more time with Dad. I never say no to more time and do not feel like I’m being taken advantage of. Quite the contrary, I feel lucky to get all this extra time. I’m looking forward to this summer, and all the fun times that will come with it.

So with that said, time to hang with my boys.

Take care,

Peter

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 3, 2018

you’re a great Dad with a wonderful attitude.  Your Ex is very lucky and so are your boys.

July 3, 2018

Sounds like you are going to have a blast.  What do you do for work?  must be a super duper job you have or is it a career?

...
July 4, 2018

Sounds lovely.