Summer’s just flying by…

Another month is gone, and can you believe it’s August already?

Last week I ended a very amazing July but attending the Evil Twins concert in Toronto. My best friend and I ventured into the big city a week ago Thursday to see Rob Zombie and Marilyn Manson, but unfortunately Manson cancelled and couldn’t perform due to illness. That sucks, but the crowd stuck around to catch Zombie do an extended set and man, he fucking rocked that night. It was my first time seeing Zombie, and that show alone was worth my price of admission, an amazing performance.

With the last month in summer here, I’ve got to bare down and get to work. I have plans to do some fun things with the boys this month cause I’ll have them for about half the month. I’ve made plans to see a baseball game, maybe even a football game. My Dad wants to join us for the ball game and there’s a great Wednesday game that starts as noon, so we’re going to hit that one. I’m also going to take the boys to see that new Disney movie with Ewan McGreggor titled “Christopher Robin”, which is going to show at our local theatre during sensory screening for kids with autism. Jon grew up watching shows about pooh bear, so I think he’ll enjoy the movie. He liked the Paddington movies too, so this is a bit similar.

I’ve got a fair bit of work to do, things I want to finish. There never seems to be enough time, but I’m going to do my best work as much as I can or my mind is willing to. I’ve been struggling a fair bit since the stroke, both physically and mentally. Sometimes I feel that the mental part is blocking me as much as the physical and it feels like a fight to get the words out. Even entries like this can be grueling to spit out sometimes. It’s just something I’ll have to work through. Like Bruce Cockburn once said so eloquently, I’ll have to keep kicking at the darkness till it bleeds daylight.

Rather than gripe, I’m still happy to be here… everything else will come back with time. I have another birthday in 85 days, and one I look forward to enjoying considering what I’ve been through. Nothing huge, but something small and personal.

Speaking of work, I’m going to get back to it.

Have a great weekend,

Peter

Log in to write a note
August 8, 2018

summer is flying by!!