Taking the kids to the park…

I’ve been rather busy the last few weeks. I’ve been helping my ex watch the boys. For the first week, I watched them at her place cause she wanted the boys to settle back in before taking a trip to my place. I get it, and agree that was important. And this week the boys are staying at my place full time whcih I don’t mind either. My ex was offered work over the summer, which I agree she had to take advantage of. I also agree that there was no point working if she was going to spend it all on a nanny to watch the kids. So with me helping out, there are no childcare costs and she had more money to help out around the house.

Last night was interesting, because I took the boys for a walk at a park close to my place. What is interesting about this is that for the last few weeks, I’ve been meeting with and walking with my new daughter and her mom at this park to hang out with them. So last night, I was invited and this time I took the boys out to meet their sister and her mom. I was worried how the boys would react but they were both well behaved and enjoyed the walk and meeting their new sister. I think Kat’s mother enjoyed it as well because she got to see me interact with my sons and see me in action as a parent. Ethan really liked meeting the baby, and even got to hold her for a moment.

I was very careful how I approached Ethan about his new sister. I reminded him that his mom has several siblings and not all of them came from the same mother. My ex was the youngest of seven siblings and the first few were from a previous marriage, so the same father but different moms. I explained to Ethan that his mom considers all her siblings the same and so should he with regards to his new sister. It’s an approach that I feel has worked well with him. He really enjoyed meeting her last night and he’s going to see her again this coming Tuesday.

I got a call from the hospital that did my biopsy earlier this week that rattled me a little bit. They called me because they wanted to book a new appointment. They called me on Monday and asked me to come in Thursday, as in tomorrow. I told this this week wasn’t good for me, cause I have both boys with me. I asked them if I could book next week or the week after, and she said no. She insisted on Thursday. Normally I don’t get much push back when asking for later appointments, but based on her tone I wasn’t being asked to come tomorrow, more like ordered/summoned. When I asked what this was about, I was only informed that this would be concerning the mass that is still in my lung and the options going forward. Since my biopsy was negative for cancer, I assumed the next appointment would be later into the summer… but man was I wrong about that.

Like I said before, the call left me rattled but the urgency of them needing to see me tomorrow. I still plan to take the same approach going in tomorrow that I had going into every appointment, which is not to panic until given a reason to. I will do my best to stick to it. The good news is my brother Chris is not working tomorrow and will watch the boys for me when I go to this appointment. I really didn’t want to take the boys in for this one, and am happy to have someone to watch them for me.

There is a music festival at the big park (the same one pictured above) this weekend, and even a few free concerts. It’s not a very good lineup, but if Ethan is up for it… I might take him down for something to eat and listen to a few cool songs.

So that’s what I have going on right now. I hope everyone else is enjoying their summer, and I’ll see you around!

Peter

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 31, 2019

Question for you?  When you have your boys and you get an appointment that you can’t change when they are not with you does your ex get upset because it’s not you looking after them?  And do you need to get her okay for someone else to look after them?

And congratulations on being a dad to a daughter…..

July 31, 2019

@jaythesmartone No, my ex wouldn’t respond like that. She understands this is an urgent appointment and that I tried to push it back. I’m just lucky my brother was available to help cause neither of us wanted to take the kids to this appointment, especially when I’m not sure what’s going to happen.

July 31, 2019

@peter_24601 You are very lucky to have an ex like you have……

August 5, 2019

I hope your appt went ok,

what a great family photo!