The Graduate…

No, this will not be an entry about a classic movie starring Dustin Hoffman. This entry is going to be about the passage of time and how fast it can pass you by if you’re not careful to look around and enjoy the view while you can.

Over eighteen and a half years ago, I posted an entry here on OD to announce to the birth of my first child, Ethan Alexander. It was cool that I was able to share that moment with everyone here on open diary, and now I’m here to celebrate another milestone, that being Ethan’s graduation from high school.

Yes, my oldest kid is a high school graduate! Wow, right?

The first picture is of Ethan in 2003, about two months after he was born. The other is Ethan at 18 years old, two weeks ago graduating from high school. Where did all this time go? It still feels like yesterday I was taking a six year old Ethan to his first Blue Jay game, or to his first day of school. Now he’s finished school and for him school’s out forever.

Ethan doesn’t know what he wants to do from here, but his mother and I feel that there is no rush and he should take his time to really think about it and take a break from school to decide what he really wants. He has some options and I’ve had a few conversations with him about it, but none of them have really made any movement, nor was that my goal.

Right now I prefer to enjoy and celebrate the moment and the milestone. There was a part of me that was very concerned this day would never come, and I’m very proud of the little fella for the effort he made to get it done.

So this is just another Ethan milestone that I happily post here on OD: My little boy is a graduate.

Pretty sweet, eh?

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
July 9, 2022

Congratulations to your son!  The passing of time really is brutally fast.  I was just going through a bucket of old photos from when my kids were small and it feels like it was all a lifetime ago, but also like only five minutes have passed since.  How sweet that you have this full circle entry in your diary to commemorate the the moment.  🙂

July 14, 2022

Congrats!!!