Theme of the Week (# 27 – 36)

It’s been over a year since I last responded to a ‘Theme of the Week’ question, so I’m kinda due. I prefer to post a few at a time, save up questions and do them in bulk like a survey. I find it better than doing an essay per question cause sometimes the answers are not that complicated. Sometimes they are, but most of the time not really.

This is my way of trying to catch up… so enjoy!

Peter

27. What should you say no to?

No is not a word people should be afraid to say. You should always say no to things that could compromise your health and especially your conscience. You should always say no to things that will keep you up at night for a very long time. Life is too short to be haunted by bad decisions, so unless you’re really sure about something, your default position should be no, or even a uncommitted maybe. 

28. What is the one thing you want to be remembered for?

The artist in my wants to be known for my works, but another part of me wants to be remembered for being a good person. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not perfect. I have many flaws, and even some dark secrets you’ll never know about. Yet in the end I’d like to think I did some good and even if just a tiny bit of that is remembered, that would be alright by me.

29. What’s your earliest memory?

My earliest memory is going to visit my grandma at her apartment. I remember sitting in front of her TV and watching a silly show and laughing at it. I remember her place and how it was decorated. It’s the only memory of her I have as she passed away that same year, when I was five.

30. Tell us about a time you had to save yourself.

I saved myself by getting off my arse and doing my thing at school rather than screwing around. I made an effort and that got me to a higher level of education, which was used to get my BA and become the writer that I am today. I’d probably be in jail if I hadn’t did that to save myself.

31. Tell us about an act of kindness – either that you gave to somebody else, or that you received from someone.

I’ve participated in many events that raised money for good causes… and will try to do so again when the pandemic is over.

32. What advice would you give to your teenaged self?

Do not read Cuju by Stephen King. Dad buys a St. Bernard (two of them actually) and that book makes your first few months with that rather awkward and uncomfortable. Just don’t read it.

33. What kind of drama do you get caught up in? What could you do to avoid it?

There isn’t as much drama in my life as I would prefer, and right now we can thank the lock downs for that. Less contact means less drama, and that’s probably the only thing I’ve actually liked about this pandemic.

34. Who do you need to forgive, and what is keeping you from doing it?

Honestly, the person I need to forgive most is myself. I need to get over the shit from my past that haunts me and prevents me from moving forth with what I need to do next. The sooner I do that, the sooner things might be a tad better.

35. What is a mistake that people make about you?

They assume I don’t care about anything, which isn’t true at all. I care about a lot of things and people, but I don’t mention it and that comes across as me not giving a shit. If anything, I care too much and it causes a lot of inner conflict. I have a hard time sharing my feelings, and while I find myself doing that better with my kids… adults are a tad harder to work that with.

36. What is something someone else has, that you envy.

I’m envious of writers who have an agent, because I find the process so mind numbing and futile that I’ve given up on it. All that time looking up people, sending out letters, and trying to convince them to represent me is time I could be using writing another book. After years of trying to find one, I gave up and am trying to put that time to things more productive… like writing more poems, diary entries, and even novels.

 

Log in to write a note
April 18, 2021

😊