Time for a little honesty…

The new year is off to a rather familiar start. More lock downs, my team gets the shaft in the playoffs and snowflakes are still whining like someone shot their damn dog. More things change the more they clearly stay the same. I don’t know about you guys, but I hate reruns. I don’t want this entry to sound like a rerun as well, so let’s start this one off with a very candid confession.

I’m going to be brutally honest; writing has been very difficult for me for the last few years. Despite my best efforts, it’s been a struggle ever since the stroke I had in 2018. I’ve gotten most of my motor function back in my right arm/hand, and the typing is back up to where it was before that happened, but the creative process is still slow and it’s sometimes hard to get something out despite my desire to create new material. It doesn’t mean nothing is happening, as I’ve been writing many comic books, finishing chapters for novels, and even creating the occasional poem.

So, there is still stuff being written, but just not at the pace I would have preferred and expect from myself. I’m pretty sure this is coming across as a glass half empty kind of position, but I am dying to get back on track and get more projects finished this year. I want to write more novels, more poems, and more blog posts moving forward and despite how slow things have been, I’ll keep kicking at the darkness until it bleeds daylight. Extra cookies for those who know what song that line is from.

One of the things I have done to get out of this funk was take some classes to improve my craft. I’ve been taking numerous Masterclass courses, watching three videos every Tuesday and Thursday. So at any given time, I’m taking three classes two times a week. I’ve been doing that for almost two years now and I like to think it’s been very helpful. I’ve taken almost all of the writing classes, and have really enjoyed the classes taught by Dan Brown, Salman Rushdie, and Neil Gaiman. I’ve also enjoyed taking other classes such as social, media, and even cooking classes. I just finished a film-making class by Spike Lee, and while I have no intention of making any independent films in the near future I found his words inspiring and helpful in the application of my own art.

Another thing I’ve done to help is create a schedule. Every week is planned out and while I’ve been far from prefect in doing everything, just having the list there has increased productivity and that was the actual goal, to do more work and less procrastination. I have every day planned out, and I will do my best to get some work done and try to be the best writer than I can be. Despite my planning, things do get missed but the point was to do better rather than be perfect. The fact that I’m doing more and getting work done was the point and it’s getting better each week. I’ve had to make adjustments to make sure I didn’t demand too much of myself, and tweek it so that I could set a realistic goal rather than push myself too hard. I like to think it’s going alright, and helping me get more work finished.

That brings me back here and what I want to do here. I want to make more blog posts, more entries about myself and what’s going on in my world. So while I want to continue to do the writing I always do, this forum will still try to be a place where I try to show the best and most accurate reflection of myself. Sometimes it won’t be pretty, but there will be times when things are well and life is good. I want to share all of them with you one way or another.

If you choose to take this journey with me, I pledge to do better moving forward as I want to keep writing about life, love and all the other stuff that makes our existence on this pale blue dot worth putting up with. I have more than enough reasons to do it, and even more on the way… but that’s a story for another entry.

Until then, take care people.

Peter

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 22, 2022

My favorite diaries are always the ones about the day to day life stuff, good, bad or otherwise.

February 22, 2022

Writers block is because we are perfectionist. I look forward to reading more.

February 23, 2022

 I’ll keep kicking at the darkness until it bleeds daylight – Canadian singer-songwriter Bruce Cockburn ???

I am sorry about what you have gone through; the stroke and everything that followed. I know it is tough adapting to the new reality, after such a terrible episode, but I am sure you can do it and even though you may not be the person that that you were prior 2018, I am sure you will be not only just a new Peter, but an even better Peter because you would have all the knowledge gained from striving through the difficulty you have been through.

Just think how much more ‘juice’ (hope that is the right word and understood) your fiction and non-fiction stories will have. I know not the same as you but let Stephen Hawkings be an example to you that anything and everything is possible, no matter the limitations.

Looking forward to reading your stories and your diary!

February 23, 2022

@ncumisa Thank you, and yes… that is from Cockburn’s Lovers in a Dangerous Time…

February 23, 2022

😘

BTW, I have no idea who Cockburn is…and I don’t recognize the lyrics…Google just knows it all! 😉😜

February 23, 2022

Been a tough couple of years, may this one be the year of good positive change for us all.

And man I just got ‘If a treeee falls in the forest…’ out of my head and now, ugh, ‘loooovers, in a dangerous time…’ lol!!!