Tis only a brief update…

This month’s Nano is off to a very slow start. Last year on day twelve I was over 25,ooo words, and this year I’m barely past 4000. I’ve been struggling with my writing since the stroke, so I knew Nano this year wouldn’t come to me as easy as it did to me last year. Part of me is afraid that I won’t pass 50K this year, but if I don’t it won’t be from a lack of effort, I’ll find my wind and eventually give it a go. I might mix things up to help the word count, juggle projects and see if something fresh gives me a boost to get back on track.

While the writing has been a struggle, everything else has been alright. They boys are doing okay in school, Dad and the new Step-mom are doing alright as well, a month after their wedding. Black Friday and Xmas is just around the corner… and the kids are going to have a good end to the year. I’m makin plans to spend the holiday with my brother and his wife. I have the boys for Xmas this year, so they are looking forward to spending the holidays with the nephews and having kids around during that time of year. Lots of fun will be had by all.

While I haven’t dedicated an entry to it, the Nick Cave concert was total badass. It was a big crowd, and the man put on a killer show. That was most likely the last show I’ll see this year but it was my 7th concert of the year, so I’ve had my fill in 2018. I’m now looking at shows next spring/summer to find the next big thing to look forward to. There are some good ones coming my way too.

In February, Sarah Brightman is coming to Toronto. I’ve always wanted to see her perform, and even Ethan wouldn’t mind seeing her too. He really enjoyed the Yanni concert so when I told him Ms. Brightman was coming to town, he seemed okay with the idea. Disturbed is coming to Toronto in March, and my brother is excited about one. I’ve already seen them once, but am willing to go with my bro again.

Another big show coming to T.O. is KISS. I’ve seen them twice already; once with and once without make up. This is rumored to be their last tour, so I’m tempted to check them out again one last time. I’m tempted to take Ethan, but it’s on a school night in the middle of the week so Leah will never approve that, like ever. The last one I’m considering is Ozzy Ozbourne, who’s coming here in June. I have a few buds that want to see it too… so we might make a big day of it.

So with that in mind, I’m trying to use the potential concerts to provoke and push me to write more comics/novels. No luck so far, but I’ll keep trying and hopefully I’ll get into a groove and spit some damn words out.

Until then, this update is done!

Cheers,

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
November 12, 2018

sounds like you are doing really well and keeping busy…the holidaays should be a blast I hope everyone will have fun.

November 12, 2018

good luck with your writing!

November 27, 2018

7 concerts! holy. I think that’s more than I’ve attended in my life lol My social anxiety and small bladder make them a nightmare though.

I cannot believe Ozzy is still doing shows! His speech is gobbledygook and yet, he can still sing.