When Dogs Attack…

We could try to approach this from a more positive angle… up to this point I managed to avoid getting bitten by a dog for almost the first forty-six years of my life. That’s a pretty decent streak, which unfortunately ended over the weekend. I regret to inform you guys that I was attacked by a rather large dog last weekend. While I took two bites from a rather angry looking mutt… I’m alright physically and the only thing that seems to be damaged is my ego and until now my stellar record with dogs.

The incident occurred in a parking lot while on my way to the dollar store to pick up some things. I was walking with my daughter when this big mutt, very similar to the picture above, came right at me and bite me twice: once on the wrist and another time on my elbow. The dog was a stray, and was even on a leash, but the owner was unable to control her crazy mutt. Our of sheer instinct, I blocked any angle the dog might have had with my 2 year old girl, and basically took one for the team.

After the attack, I didn’t hang around and neither did the owner and her dog. I chose to take my kid inside the store to at least put a few doors between my child and the savage beast. Since I wasn’t hurt that much, I chose to go on with my normal business to not freak anyone out. The next day after Kat was back with her mother, I went to an urgent care center and was checked out physically. There was no damage and all precautions were taken to make sure nothing worse, such as rabies, was a risk factor. A report was filed with the authorities, but I doubt anyone was going to find the mutt in question. I was more worried about my child’s safety at the time so I didn’t really care. 

While I’m alright physically, I can’t help but feel a little rattled. A few days later when I was taking a walk in the park, I was hesitant to pet another dog that was not a threat. I’ve always had a good rapport with dogs, but its going to take some time to get back to where I was before mentally. I’ve struggled a bit with my work, but am slowly getting back into gear after a few days off.

So that was my weekend. It was ironic that I had to spend a small chunk of father’s day getting treated for dog bites Yet to be fair, I’d step in front of an angry dog for my kids any time. That’s what dads are supposed to do, right?

Take care everyone, I’ll be back again soon!

Peter

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

Yer a good dude to protect your kid like that. Great Dad! Smart move to get checked out. Yeah stay away from dogs for a while. They will sense your fear/anxiety and react to it. Also some folks don’t like their dogs being touched. I get you about the dog bite thing. Not happened to me in a long time but due to the dogs around where I live… I prefer my treadmill to walking around here. I am very careful around dogs. I assess them as I would people. I think you were a true man of honor and hero protecting your kid like that! BRAVO!

June 24, 2021

Good for you for shielding your daughter. Damn! Can’t owners control their mutts???

June 28, 2021

You are a good dad.

I wish more people were responsible pet owners.