Blood Quill Exchange

 "I need a red pen today."

"You want to write… in red pen?"

"Yes, why do you say it like that?"

"It just seems, well… like you’re trying to say you want to write in blood – and since you can’t, you will settle for red pen."

"Uh… huh?"

"I am just saying – that pyschologically – red ink is blood."

"What the… what if I just wanted to grade papers or edit something or write Christmas cards festively in red ink."

"I would say that you are not a teacher, you have zero things to edit and who writes Christmas cards in ink that resembles blood."

"You are seriously a major pain in my ass."

"So are you going to tell me why you want to write poetry in blood?"

"It’s been a really bad day."

"I figured as much."

"I wish I had one of those Harry Potter blood quills."

"Oh dear Lord, here we go – a Harry Potter reference."

"You say that, like you do not reference Star Wars every five minutes."

"Star Wars is much more established than Harry Potter and has a large adult fan base. I sound geeky and intelligent when I reference Star Wars, not like a 13 year old English school girl who secretly wants to change her frizzy hair straight."

"You seriously just compared me to a 13 year old English school girl?"

"I do believe I did, yes."

"I think that’s one of the nicest compliments you’ve ever given me."

"I do try you know."

"In your own geeky way, I suppose you do."

 

Log in to write a note