In Need Of A Full Time Editor

I have tons of ideas for stories but I’ve come to find out that I suck at writing. What do I do? Can I take an English as a first language class? It’s not grammar as much as I become a little dyslexic with tenses, sentences and even occurrences. Not sure how, but it takes my husband hours to figure out how to untangle what I’ve done. Once he’s sifted through everything, the stories can be fun.

Does everyone have this problem? I know lots of journalists who can write on a dime. boom, done and ready for prime-time. Maybe they can help.

Most recently I created a mythology about two real stars and how they came to be. It’s been edited and just has another few readings to make sure it flows. Then comes the next challenging part – illustrations. Because this is a book for 8-10 yr. olds, it doesn’t need to be a picture book. But, I like the idea of having images so I’ll do a few paintings for some of the key points.

 

 

Log in to write a note
March 13, 2018

As an editor, I can tell you that yes, a lot of people have this problem. A lot of it is down to dialect & grammatical inaccuracies being common and accepted in dialect. If you need an editor, I can do it freelance for you. 🙂

March 13, 2018

@pulchritude Wow, I didn’t think anyone was listening! What kind of things do you generally edit?

March 13, 2018

@pola everything lol I’ve done manuscripts for books, magazines, I’m a former newspaper journalist so newspaper editing, copywriting for websites, editing web copy and print … 🙂

March 13, 2018

Have you tried out Grammerly?  https://www.grammarly.com/  One of the nurses uses it religiously for her papers, and they have improved significantly.

March 13, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm I will look into that, thank you