Avec mes souvenirs j’ai allumé le feu…

Do I believe in soulmates? I don’t know if I even believe in mates anymore truth be told.

Seriously though, do I believe there’s someone for everyone? Probably not no. I think some people are just made to be alone, whether they realise it or not. There’s plenty of people on this planet so probability could suggest that you have to be compatible with at least one other person, but not necessarily just one person either. Polyamory and polygamy suit some folks, to suggest that those involved in such arrangements aren’t soulmates is just a shitty attempt to invalidate a choice that makes a group of people consensually happy. Of couse, not all who enter polygamous relationships are consenually happy, but neither are all monogamous relationships, or all cishet relationships.

For me personally? I don’t know if there’s a “soulmate” out there for me. IF there is, I haven’t met them yet. I don’t expect a soulmate, hell I don’t even expect to meet someone that I’d want to settle with but then, I’m not exactly in the best headspace to even begin to consider relationships and such. I’m not ruling it out, never say never and all the that jazz, it’s just not something I see as something to aspire to, it’s not an ambition. If it happens then it happens, but for now, I’m alone and I’m ok with that…I think.

Log in to write a note