Let Those Butterflies Go Home…

So…

 

Values, we all have them. Some have more than others, others profess to have more than some. Then there’s those who claim to have values they don’t actually possess. Me? I know the values I have. Intrinsically I’m a good person, I’m not always a nice person though because the  value that means the most to me is honesty. You know a liar will steal from you, you know a cheat will cheat but you never know where you stand with a liar.

I’m quite militant about honesty, with myself, with others, even with the kids. I’d far rather be hurt with the truth than pleased with a lie. Elle never could understand why the little white lies made me angry, honesty is the absolute most that you can give to someone. Everyone deserves transparency and honesty, especially from the ones they love. I am brutally honest. Some people see it as a flaw, I don’t. I’m not the one who will tell you what you want to hear, I’ll tell you what I think. I’m not the girl to sugarcoat the truth, I’m not Willy Wonka. Sometimes people think I’m insincere or fake but the minute they need shit to be real, it’s me they turn to.

To my own detriment, I don’t hide very much. I’m fairly open with my honesty. This leads to me getting taken advantage of, yet I never learn because honesty is the foundation of decency, and that’s something I will never compromise on. A little less bullshit in the world and it would be a better place.

Log in to write a note
February 5, 2018

I just wanted to pop in and say hello!! I remember reading you years ago and I look forward to reading you in the future!!