(Entry 9) How do i find time for Reading.

Once you learn to read, you will be forever free. – Frederick Douglass

For people who carry a few feathers into their hat, juggling through them becomes a norm. Reading is one of the most exquisite activities that one can do to visit places and know people.

i am a reader first and then i am a writer. My journey with words began not when i was born and cried the hell out but when i picked my first novel. It was a Hindi novel titled Mayapuri by Shivani. Shivani is no more but her books continue to touch hearts. My first English novel was Five Point Someone by India’s one of the eminent writers, Chetan Bhagat. i was besotted when i had first read it.

The reader has travelled a long way since then, has met amazing people on papers and travelled seas and mountains.

Now, reading is an inseparable part of my routine. There used to be days when i am too deep into writing to pick a book. Or, simply busy doing something else. Reading then would take a back seat.

You guessed it right. The reader inside me hated it! The writer within scoffed and scorched with insults and contempt. i had to solve this problem.

i did. Here is how i find time to read – 

i set aside at least 30 minutes every day for book reading. To make sure i achieve the goal, i set the alarm for 30 minutes (or more, depending upon my schedule) and then pick the book and dive into an altogether new world.

This habit has helped me immensely with – first, it lets me do my favorite activity, and second, it helps with being consistent.

Right now i am on Frankstein by Dean Koontz. Such elegant writing. What are you reading? And what is your way to book reading?

Log in to write a note
March 8, 2021

Wow you are quite the avid writer I love how you write. I used to read a lot as well. What did you think of my recent story

March 9, 2021

@itsjustmarina Thank you!

I didn’t read the whole story as i had my own WC to shoot. But i read the intro and it was amazing!

March 8, 2021

I could t find your private message you left me on OD where can I find it?

March 9, 2021

@itsjustmarina Let me check whether i did it right. Am still a new born on OD