Nobody to blame, but myself.

I think it is safe to say that my bf and I are still broken up. And, after ten years of this relationship.. it is over.

This is all my fault. I told him for months we were not doing well, then I started telling him that we should separate and see others… Nothing I said made him realize that things were bad..I distanced myself, didn’t have sex, didn’t see him on the days we usually saw each other….

Till he met a girl – and changed his mind. Then all of a sudden, "I was right" and the romance was gone, and we should date others…

We texted today while I was at work. I actually did something that I never thought I would do –  I groveled. And also apologized and told him I made a mistake and that I was sorry.

I told him that I did not think it was a good idea to date others while we were working on "us."

He disagrees. So after much back and forth, I told him that if he wanted to date others, we will. Actually – he will… I will not. I went to an online dating site yesterday. I could not do it. I could NOT sign up for an account.

I just don’t want to date others.

I wanted him to come down tomorrow and told him I wanted to mess around… but I also asked him to please tell me when he decides to take his dating further and sleep with them. I don’t want to sleep with him when he is screwing others! And anyways, how is that fair to the other woman…?

He does not like the idea. Cause he says "then I will know."

When we talked the other day, I made like it was ok that we dated. But honestly, I don’t want it. I am old fashioned. I equate sex with intimacy. He thinks it’s just screwing.

I can’t separate it, as much as I try.

So, when I got home today, I texted him and told him that I give up. If he wants to date others, so be it. If he does not want to come down tomorrow, that was fine also and I would not throw myself at him.

And, I also asked him to just not forget about the kids or my grandson.

And then I cried. Because I just don’t know what else to do.

Log in to write a note

I’m so very sorry that you’re going through this. I really wish he would give things between the two of you another chance… Please be kind and gentle with yourself right now. You may have made a decision you now regret, but remember you had your reasons. Things were not perfect in the relationship. You may not feel ready to move on yet, but always remember that you deserve love and happiness. Take good care and thank you for your note.