Forgiveness and letting go

It has been brought to my attention that I need to forgive my self for a wrong I have done in the past and learn to let go. I don’t know why its hard for me to just let things go. I hold grudges bad and its not healthy. Also I let guilt get the better of me when I should learn from my mistakes and move on and not hold on to them. I have been confusing guilt for closure. It has been pointed out to me that I have my closure now I just have to let go of the guilt and forgive my self. Hearing that it just clicked for me the weight of guilt lifted a bit so I am going to work on forgiving my self.

Log in to write a note

I still feel guilty for shit I did 50 years ago. High School. I tell myself for DECADES it is the past and I cannot do anything about it.Learning experiences. I work on NOT holding onto grudges. Resentments. Being hateful can define us. Not sure if I like that word, “forgive”. I do prefer “letting go” BECAUSE we cannot change anything in the past. I tell people I “hate” the man that owned the company I worked for that put it out of business. I do not. I find hate and resentments are sickening burdens to carry. To nurture and give life as we move into the present and future holding onto the past. What is OVER. Fuck Tom. Now let go, Scott 😉 I think there is a sick joy in punishing ourselves. Beating up on ourselves. If we want to love others and the world and be kind, practice on ourselves. I have been. If anyone feel resentment for what I did in the past… THEY are still living THERE.Not me. I need to live now. Just as you are trying to do. Good for you for working on yourself!

July 16, 2021

@skobru  I only like the word forgiveness for my self there is some people I will never forgive but I have moved on. I think everyone should take the time to work on yourself in some way or another though out your life never stop working on your self.

@psychoshrimp666 Right on girl! Bravo!