Music…

I write about music so often and I think it gets lost in the shuffle. How an arrangement of words, melodies, harmonies, and instruments can impact your heart in such a small way. That small way turns into a big way and you find yourself on the cusp. Music has so many different meanings for everyone. None of us listen to it the same. What jumps out to me in a song isn’t going to jump out to another person. I sit here listening to the new version of Zac Clark’s Mountains on repeat, as I often do with new music. And the thing that jumps out to me is the guitar intro softly plucked underneath the earthy tones of Zac’s voice. Not overpowering the piano as it comes in. The same when Andrew and Joe chime in with their backup vocals. The other instruments adding their own voice to the piece, the unique accents they provide creating the piece.

I’ve loved this song last summer when it came out on Zac’s self-titled album. It’s hard to believe that after Monday he’ll no longer be part of the Wilderness. That he will be on a different path, that our run-ins will be cut in half. While sad, I’m happy for him. He deserves this chance to step into the spotlight. He has such a beautiful voice and is probably the most genuine soul I’ve had the pleasure of knowing in my lifetime. I know he will achieve great things on this new path. If you haven’t checked it out yet, it’s out now. You should check it out. Honestly, one of the best songs to come out in a long time. Till next time.

-Sonja

Log in to write a note