Autumn Equinox – Mabon

In my part of the world, today is the Autumn Equinox and I will be celebrating Mabon, an ancient Celtic harvest. Mabon is the mid-harvest festival, and it is when we take a few moments to honor the changing seasons and celebrate the second harvest. For many Pagan traditions, it is a time of giving thanks for the things we have, whether it is abundant crops or other blessings. As night and day are in a harmonious balance, with equal amounts of day and night it is also a good time for finding balance in our own lives and with others.

I’m noticing I need to balance more of the give and receive in my life.  Especially with my husband.  I think lately he’s been doing a lot of giving and I need to catch up 😅  As for gratitude? I am grateful I woke up healthy this morning. I am grateful for my husband, my kids, my home… I could go on for a long time.  Maybe I need to sit in gratitude more often as a reminder, something to keep the dark away. Oh… and I get to spend an evening with friends for a virtual Mabon Celebration. 🍁🍂💛

Astrologist, Linda Kaye notes, the movement of the Sun into Libra occurs this Mabon at 6:04 p.m. pacific time. Celebrated the world over, the Sun’s ingress into Libra marks the first day of Fall — the season of balance and gratitude. Astronomically, in the Northern Hemisphere, both the Fall Equinox (end of Summer) and the Spring Equinox (end of Winter) mark the only two days of the year that the Earth’s axis is not tilted toward or away from the Sun.

So, tell me?…

Where do you think you need more balance in your life?

What are you grateful for?

Log in to write a note