Breaking Down The Walls…

My oldest son (he’s 14 and a freshman in High School) had quite a mind opening experience last week…

His first period is Gym Class so he went into the Gym as usual and it was filled with people from every grade in his school with some adults.  He stared to leave and then a Man who seems to be one in charged stopped him and asked him to stay.  My son spent the next 6 hours learning how to break down walls of differences amongst strangers, his peers as well as his fellow classmates.

He met a girl who felt like an outcast because she was overweight, had diabetes and was suffering with depression.  He met another girl that came from a hard family and had already spent some time in jail.  But the story that seemed to affect him the most was told by a young man in his Junior year…

One of the many questions asked by the man in charge was if the students felt that women should be able to make the choice of keeping their baby or not if they were pregnant?  Or did they feel that women should NOT be able to choose?

Well, the man noticed a young couple, obviously boyfriend and girlfriend, arguing over these questions.  The man asked them both to come forward to discuss their difference of opinions.  The girl went on in great detail all of the reasons she should have the choice over her own body.  She got into the whole Row vs. Wade, ect.  and she made some really strong points on the subject.

Next it was the young mans turn to express his own feelings and my son could tell this young man was close to tears as he told this story…

"My mom was pregnant and she decided to have an abortion so she scheduled the appt. and when the day came she went into the clinic, got undressed and layed down on the table.  Just before the doctor came in she changed her mind, got up, got dressed and left.  That baby was me!"

By the time this young man was finished telling his story both he and his girlfriend were crying.  His girlfriend hugged him and told him that she still felt the same was as before but after hearing his story she will give him more respect and understanding for his own feelings and beliefs.

I’ve always been pro choice myself but this story makes me cry everytime I think about it or re-tell it.  It puts a twist on my way of thought.  I know my son will never forget it.

Log in to write a note
October 8, 2007

yeah, thats pretty powerful