Rough Time

Well excuse me if this entry sounds a little weird… “weird” being a relative term
when it comes to my enteries and me for that matter!  There’s been a lot to coup
with this weekend, it’s been one of those weekends you knew was coming for a
while, sooner or later, just wished it would come a lot later then it did.  I got a call
Friday night (just as I was getting ready to go out and RAGE a little bit with some
friends) that my grandfather had just passed away and worse still I was stuck
breaking the news to my dad, which I was afraid would have been more dramatic,
but the news wasn’t totally unexpected, he was 85 plus years old after all, we don’t
exactly know how old really, those kinds of records aren’t the most accurate in
Greece, just look at 2 of my uncles who were officially born 2 months apart by the
same parents, I’m not an expert but I think that’s next to impossible… well not in
Greece.  Anyway, my dad took it pretty well, he was with them 3 weeks ago and
was prepared for the inevitable, a couple of my other uncles took it a lot worse and
to tell you the truth seeing their pain was the only thing troubling me.  I didn’t have
the greatest relationship with grandfather, we always talked about the same things
(i.e. how are you, fine, how’s everyone else, fine, how’s work, fine, when are you
going to get married and have kids, oh I don’t know, and when are you going to
come visit us here in Greece, I don’t know, soon I hope)… that kind of jazz!  I was
dragged into a couple conversations I didn’t want to be in, since I was the oldest
niece. Within 12 hours  my dad and his four brothers were on a plane heading to
Greece for the funeral, which is tomorrow morning…
You know that Friday got even worse, just before we got the call team had
just lost to in their first game at the Olympics (i.e. hockey, the only Olympics
competition that means anything to me).  Actually we didn’t just lose, we lost horrible
and in a couple hours we’re playing the big bad Germans, not exactly a hockey power
my faith in them is being tested.  Oh wouldn’t you know it, Friday was like my brother’s
first real night off since his bar opened and instead of staying home and relaxing we all
meet up at one of my uncles houses to be together… he was taking it pretty bad as well,
late in the evening he got a call from the bar and he had to rush over for something, I ended
up going along just to get away for a while and because I was kind of concerned for him…
we walked into the bar and it was amazing, he totally took charge, it was as if he was the
owner or something… oh wait, that’s right he is the owner… I felt a little weird, as if I were
the little sister following him around .
that’s when he started drinking shots and acting strange… so I waited for him to finish and
drove him home.  Now to top off a horrible night as I was heading home I made an illegal left
hand turn and wouldn’t you know it a cop was right behind me, ready to pounce, a $110 ticket
later I was back on my way. It was the first time I’ve ever been pulled over for anything ever,
and the really funny thing is we took this root home because someone else had told us that
R.I.D.E. was patrolling the other way home… out of the frying pan, into the fire.
I’m listening to some Radiohead, I bought a bunch of live bootlegs from a friends who’s made
getting rare recordings a business… I’m really getting into it, I also bought some Oasis, Blur,
Sheryl Crow, Alanis Morissette and a few others, all live, very listenable… especially in my
mood…music is suck a releaf to me…

Nothing special happen over Valentines, I hate fake holidays… might of helped if I was
seriously involved in a relationship and not just going through the motions…

Anyway, I’d better hit the shower, thanks for listening and I’ll talk to you again sometime
real soon I hope, but in all honesty there just isn’t enough time in the day to do everything
you want to…

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 22, 2006

Screw all that stuff you’ve been listenin to. That isn’t music. You need to start listening to Trivium, In Flames, Strapping Young Lad, and Chimaira! Oh yeah!