Birth

 

Three years ago one of my best friends and I made a pact to have babies together (in three years time). Originally we were two weeks apart, and as you know I miscarried that baby and struggled to deal with my own emotions and be supportive at the same time.

I left the shower early because I was ovulating. I slept through the diaper party and I damn near slept through her birth.

I made it to the birth center sometime around 3 and stopped by the front desk to sort out my progesterone prescription shit. Ten minutes later when I got to the room, she was already vocalizing.

“Alright, good deal, baby by dinnertime.”

“That would be amazing.”

 

Flawless. She was flawless. No time even for one belly pic together. They were amazing partners, he is so devoted to her and it made my heart swell. She deserved this. She deserved it all.

It was by far the most textbook labor and birth I have ever seen. Yes, she was scared. Yes, she was in unimagineable pain. It was not easy. But it went so, so smoothly and just hours (and less than 20cx) later the most perfect beautiful baby girl was laid to her chest.

I always feel incredibly privileged to attend a birth, but this was different. I felt like I was a part of something much much larger.

It was powerful.

All of my sadness and grief left. Just for a while, maybe, but gone. The anxiety has slowed. All thats left is happy. I am so happy for them.

Log in to write a note
February 23, 2018

Attending a birth after going through a miscarriage could be difficult.

Congratulations to your friend and her husband on the recent arrival, and congrats to you for being able to attend something so extraordinary.

February 23, 2018

That is amazing that you did that, after what you went through (I am so sorry for your terrible loss), and that you took a positive light to and from it. 🙂

February 27, 2018

You are a strong person, and an amazing friend to attend her birth. Big hugs and lots of love to you.