Therapy Questions

My therapist asked me to think about how do I define my own worth? My marriage and my weight defined me for so long. Without that what’s left of me? I cried hearing her asking me. I’ll admit I was having an emotional day when we discussed it.

I took a while to think about what self-worth really meant. I did a little research. Self-esteem. Thinking of yourself, self-respect. What am I, on the inside? I am smart, funny, caring. I give without expecting to receive in return.

What values matter to me?

– Honesty, reliability, being goal-oriented, humor, positivity, passion, fitness

Valued Domains: How do I want to live my life in these situations?

Partner/Significant Other: I want to be a source of support for my boyfriend. I want to be the person he knows he can turn to when he’s had a hard day. He’s the person I find myself wanting to talk to when I have good news. I want a partner in life, someone who appreciates me as much as I do them. I want someone open and honest.

Daughter: I want to be a source of pride for my parents. I want them to know that I love them and appreciate everything they have done for me throughout the years. I have formed a stronger bond with my parents over the last few years but I still struggle to talk with them about my mental health. I mention that I go to therapy but I don’t quite feel comfortable discussing how I felt as a child or that some of my experiences in my childhood have created parts of me that I need to work through.

Friendships: I’d like to be a friend that people can count on. The sort of friend that they know is there when they really need someone. I want to be an ear to listen when they need it.

Employee: I want to be an employee that is positive, understanding and a “go-to” person. I want to respect others opinions when they differ from mine. Look for alternate solutions to problems and solve problems that seem hard. I also want to build a small business that allows me to have more in life.

Health. I’m a much healthier person than I was a year ago. It’s not about a specific weight any more. It’s about being strong, being active and being able to participate in activities. I want to maintain where I’m at, maybe lose a few more pounds but I don’t want that to be the focus of my life. I’d like the focus of my life to be being over all healthier, mentally and physically.

(This will be edited to add more)

Log in to write a note
kat
November 19, 2020

I think you are priceless! Next time tell her that! Because you are

Sounds good. 🙂