Conquered by light

Silence is a ticking bomb
Waiting to explode
Intoxicating my brain
For if we
Do not speak out today
We convict ourselves tomorrow
Committing the same sin
All over again

The end of a situation
Is better than
Its beginning
I’ve come too far
For too long
Just to give up
And yield to your demands
I’ve come too far
And I’m going to reach out
In order to take that
Final step

As I fight against
The struggles of this world
I must remember
Not to compromise
The values I hold
For I feel like a shadow
Of my former self
Imaginary
Thrown away
Crumbled up
Discarded
And burned
By a world
Petrified by fear
Wondering where
I’ll go from here

I’ve heard time heals all things
But I haven’t gone the distance
To accomplish that dream
I’ve heard you can always forget
What is now “the forgotten”
Except that shadow stays behind
Slowly creeping up in the dark
Until it catches up
And breaks your mind
One day at a time
These are the smiles and tears
Across the years
A cyclic reincarnation
Day by day
Year after year

It seems that nothing
Last forever
Because
Everything is put together
Breaking down and falling apart
Fate divides and conquers our lives
With exquisite joys and sorrows
And somewhere between
These two extremes
Lies a truth
I can never fathom

As time falls asleep
I realize
My life is an abstract illusion
Which I failed to comprehend
So I cloaked myself behind
All the lies
Concluding that the truth
Is only the degree from
The perspective it was told
For I am both
Lost and found
Trying to break the cycle
I always find myself in
Again and again

Everything has to die tonight
I have to stand strong
I cannot budge
I must see and stay the course
Believe I have succeeded
Even though that time
Has not arrived
I keep the picture in my mind
As I run away
With victory in my hands
And I will put an end
To the suffering
I’ve always held on to
So I can begin an era
Of my life that is
Conquered by light

Log in to write a note
September 12, 2018

I like this.

September 25, 2018

@jaythesmartone

Thanks!  Light has to shine.