Dailies Summer Reading Challenge – Complete

The challenge was to read two books from each of the following categories:

  • 5 Pre-chosen books
  • Themes challenge
  • Anything I wish

    Well, I read a bit more than that….

    Challenge One:

  • 5 Pre-chosen books – Read 5 our of 5 – COMPLETED

    Challenge Two: Themes

  • Rory Gilmore Book List – COMPLETED
  • Lost Book List – COMPLETED
  • 1001 Books to read before you die list – COMPLETED
  • Dailies Book – COMPLETED
  • Dice 1: Graphic Novel – COMPLETED
  • Dice 2: Historical Fiction – COMPLETED

    Challenge Three: Anything I want. COMPLETED – at this point have read several books on my own, but they are also based on some of the other challenges.

    **Books in this color are are two or more “book lists”

    5 pre-chosen

  • Lisey’s Story by Stephen King
    This book surprised me. I have a built in avoidenced of Steven King and was loath to read anything by him. I really enjoyed this book; the sci-fi at the end seemed misplaced after everything else, but it also fit in it’s own way. Everyone has their own place where they escape to when life gets in the way or becomes too much….
  • Eat Pray Love One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy India and Indonesia by Elizabeth Gilbert
    Okay, this was my favorite book of the summer reading challenges. I like travel books, reading about adventures in other places, and throw in some personal growth and I am fairly happy. I am much more interested in reading about other places than a person’s personal enlightenment – but her writing style was something that I greatly appreciated. Now if I can find time to go see the film…..
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
    I normally have not liked mystery/thrillers when I have read them, and I had a really hard time getting into this book because of how it started with the trial and a lot on business investigation (that part still seems to me entirely random and thrown in) But I greatly enjoyed this book. Right now I am starting the next novel, and am going to read all three – probably by the end of September if I have time.
  • Labyrinth by Kate Mosse
    I had high hopes for this, but felt let down. I did enjoy the novel and the history information was very interesting and surprisingly accurate (yay for having access to a family member who’s history studies specialize in the times of the crusades). But I felt disappointed with the ending. It seems like I was reading one of my student’s attempts, where the idea is grand and fairly well executed, but the ending is lost and abrupt. Too much was left out, and I was hoping the other books would fill in the blanks, but come to find out they are in the same strain, but not following the same characters… Oh well.
  • Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
    Okay, I just cannot read books like this anymore it seems. I felt cheated by the end, where all these people who were strong and trying to find their own path were cut down by others trying to force them to be happy in faith only…..That’s all I will say on the matter as I would probably write a long essay on why this pisses me off.

    Challenge: Themes

    1. Pick a book from the Rory Gilmore Book List.

  • Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West – Gregory Maguire
    I re-read this book as I had read it years ago. I found nothing else interesting on this book list that I wanted to read that I had not already. Something might catch my eye in the future, and a few have piqued my interest recently.

    2. Pick a book from the LOST book List.

  • The Wizard of Oz
    I actually read this because I had never done so as a child, and I wanted to re-read Wicked. I didn’t care for it much.
  • Alice’s Adventure’s in Wonderland
  • Through the Looking Glass
    I read these two together in one book. Again, they are stories I never read as a child but had known, so I wanted to read them.
  • The Chronicles of Narnia
    These were on my bucket list to read and they happen to be on the Lost Book List as well, so they get listed here for a short review. Mostly I wanted to re-read these because I had never read the last book as a child. Now I wish I hadn’t. As when I was a child, I loved the first 6 books – they were easy and enjoyable. The last book just pissed me right the hell off.

    3. Pick a book from the 1001 books to read before you die list.
    I have since found the up-dated 2010 version of this list, and have been going through it and picking out books to read

  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Douglas Adams
    I had never read the book before, and had watched the film with some of my students and thought it would be interesting. I greatly enjoyed it – and now I have to read the rest of the books…
  • Alice’s Adventure’s in Wonderland
  • Through the Looking Glass
  • Orlando – Virgina Woolf – Currently Reading

    4. Pick a book from a Dailies Book Club Challenge that you didn’t finish or get to and read it!

  • Ireland’s Pirate Queen
    This was very interesting, but I have a hard time reading pure history. It was a text book, historical study into Grace O’Mally, and while it was facinating information, it was VERY hard to read for me. I’m at a point where I get to read for enjoyment, not research – and that is what I felt I was doing.

    5. Roll a Die to determine the type of book you’ll read. – 2 Books
    ***For how this was figure out, go to the entry and read the description.

    Roll One: 2 – Graphic Novel

  • Kabuki: Circle of Blood – David Mack
    Roll Two: 5 – Historical Fiction
    Boy had been trying to get me to read this, and then I say for two days and did nothing else. I read the whole series, and greatly enjoyed it. The story was interesting and the art style was beautiful done, and it was interesting to see how it changed from book to book.
  • Across the Nightingale Floor (Tales of the Otori, Book 1) – Lian Hearn
    Another series that Boy has been trying to get me to read – and I really enjoyed the first book. It is a historical fiction set in a made-up world, based on feudal Japan. I found it easy to understand because of my own interest in history – but I also know I had to set my own knowledge of historical accuracy aside and remind myself it is historical
  • fiction.

    5 books that are anything you want.

  • Kabuki 2: Dreams
  • Kabuki 3: Masks of the Noh
  • Kabuki 4: Skin Deep
  • Kabuki 5: Metamorphosis
  • Kabuki 6: Scarab – Lost in Translation
  • Kabuki 7: The Alchemy
  • Mouse Guard Volume 2: Winter 1152 – David Peterson
  • Ya-Yas in Bloom
  • Vampire Hunter D: Journey to the Northern Sea Part 2
  • Vampire Hunter D: The Rose Princess
  • The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe
  • Prince Caspian
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Trader
  • The Silver Chair
  • The Horse and his Boy
  • The Last Battle
  • The Reincarnationist – M. J. Rose
  • Log in to write a note
    August 30, 2010

    You’re such a reader! I also saw 1001 Books to read before you die list and chose Kazuo Ishiguro’s NEVER LET ME GO. I finished it last week. It was a great novel. I’m planning to read more classics this time around.