Reclaiming Emotions

I have not written here in quite a while yet again. I am getting back into the habit of writing for myself and as a way to be able to manage my mental health, which really fell apart a few years ago. I have been working my way back, and am now working my way back in writing.

Something I am doing for myself is meditating daily, using the Clam app/web site. I have used it for almost two years now, and for the last month have gotten in the habit of listening to the Daily Calm meditation. Now that I am finally done with the school year from hell, I want to write a reflection of the quote used within the meditation. It’s hard to explain if you do not use the app/website, but each daily mediation is inspired by a quote, and I have come to really like them.


“There is no ‘should’ or ‘should not’ when it comes to having feelings. They’re part of who we are and their origins are beyond our control.” Mr. Fred Rogers.

This has always been an issue for me in my family. Unless it was “happy,” it was not allowed. We never talked about feelings, and I know that is part of my hang-up as an adult.

I have come to accept my own emotions, and they are quite varied since my brain does not “function normally” due to depression and anxiety. What I need to work on is how to express them in a healthy manner, which I can do through writing. It is far better than bottling everything up until I explode or have a meltdown.

I do this for myself.

Log in to write a note
June 9, 2020

Glad you’re here writing! It is such a gift to ourself, to write freely.

June 10, 2020

@thecriticsdarling – Thank you. 🌺