YOC: May (sort of cheating)

photobucket
And The Award Goes To….

I think I was lucky in this – as the school year closes it is awards time.

This year I presented 3 English Awards, PLUS a Volunteer Award for my student who worked with me on our Honor Flight Trip.

English Awards:
Best Work Ethic
My student who as a junior took Senior English, the first quarter of which her psycho parents pulled her out of school as punishment and not only did she do all the work independent study, she excelled at it (we studied The Canterbury Tales and Frankenstein – I gave her the resources and she ran with it and did amazing). She completed on her completed her Senior Project a year ahead of schedule which is a school-wide symposium on safe relationships and what to do if things go bad

Most Improved Reader
I have a wonderful young man who would much rather be out Elk hunting than sitting in a classroom. He works almost full time on top of playing football and going to school to support his family. He says he is bad at reading, but this year not once did I ever see him without something to read, but it a novel for class, a text book, a magazine, or information on a career/trade college he is interesting in.

Most Improved Writer
Another young man, one of my Seniors, who struggles with English and classwork in general because of ADHD. He submitted one essay for edits 11 times in the span of 3 days because he “wanted to get it right.” He was my first Senior done with his Senior Project, he started his paper and research early because he knew it takes him a bit to read – and THEN he was the first one done with a 10 page research paper related to his project; the minimum was 8 pages and my “top” students aimed for that. He turned in 10 pages of really well research material on how sports benefits kids physically and mentally.

Graduation was on May 27, and not only did my seniors ask me to give their Graduation “key note speech” (or whatever they call it) I got to present the local scholarship awards to three of my students.

The following is the draft of the speech I give. Go figure, I put it on the lectern, then stared at my kids and just started talking.

Good evening ladies, gentleman and graduates. I was surprised when this class at the beginning of the year told me they were going to ask me to be their speaker – Note: you told me you planned on asking me, you did not ask me until last month; it seems you like to wait until the best possible moment to do something – usually in such a way that I am left panicking. I’ve also made it pretty well known that I’m terrified of public speaking – of course, when ***** makes those puppy-dog eyes, it’s hard to say no. But then it was not that you asked me to be your speaker, which after what I put you through with senior projects really is sort of a surprise, but how you asked me that made me want to stand up here this evening.

You told me that you wanted me to be your speaker because I was “the only one who actually liked you as a class.” Now before embarrassment sets in, the whole point of that little story is to share the fact that this is one of those few times that I get to look at you smiling and tell all you that you’re wrong.

Look out at this room tonight and see just how many people are here for you. This airplane-hanger that we call a gym is full of family and friends, teachers, coaches and mentors. People who you have looked up to, and others who look up to you. Every person in this room tonight is here for you because not only do they ‘like you;’ they admire the hard work you have done, they respect you for how far in life you have come, they are excited to see what you will do next. While at this moment some of you are probably a bit embarrassed that I shared that, and some of you are just now realizing just how many pairs of eyes are staring at you – but I wanted to make sure that you knew that not only do all these people like you, but they love you for who you are.

Tonight is the end of one chapter of your life. You have survived, some of you just barely based on the number of times you came in and started stories with “Hey Ms Y. look at this!” to show off your battle wounds. You have overcome obstacles, suffered loss, achieved personal goals and have come out of it all with tales to share with the next people you meet in life; I am sure some stories are far more colorful than others. This room is filled with those who have been a part of your stories so far. Those who have watched as you have tripped and who have helped you back up; who have watched with joy as you have flown.

Tonight a new chapter of your life begins. It will start when you walk across this stage and shake the hands of just some of the people who have helped you along the way – and tomorrow is a new day, a blank page that you get to write upon. Every day is a fresh start, a blank slate to decide what you want to do in this life, for you to create who you want to be. Never let someone else try to define you for deep down you know who you are, what you personally stand for, and what you want to accomplish in your life.

I won’t lie, there will be bumps along the way, but remember there are people in this life – some of them in this very room and some you have yet to meet – who will gladly help you back up when you fall, who will stand by you and help you chase after your dreams.

So tonight, as we share your last few minutes as a high school student, I am very honored to stand on this stage because yes, I do like you as a class, and I am not the only one, and like everyone in this room tonight I am so very proud of what you have achieved, and I cannot wait to see what you will do next.

Log in to write a note