New Life, Old Issues

I started my sober journey in August 1995 and was attending a little church in a neighboring town, I was renting a room from one of the members of the church and working in Petrochemical Refineries as an NDT tech.

The little church had just hired a new pastor *DB* and he had a family of a wife and 2 daughters, One was 18 year old *Bec* and 21 year old *Sprite* Yes, that *Sprite*
I did not have much contact with the family other than *Dave* who had become a good friend along with being my Pastor and mentor.
To make a long story short, Sprite and I started dating in the summer of 1993 and were broken up 4 months later. I did not find out for almost 20 years that the reason we broke up was fear, fear on her part when she realized she had fallen in love with me and it scared her, so much so much so that she ran. Of course I was in love with her and this devastated me.
I ended up running myself and married *K* on the rebound, a choice that would have many implications for my life.
Between *CA* and *Sprite* I was a mess of insecurity and desperation, I wanted so much for someone to love, and to love me in return.

Log in to write a note
March 20, 2021

I hope that one day you will find the love you deserve