FebMusMo1

The prompt was to choose and post a song that had inspiration for you (me).  I chose "Illusion" by VNV Nation.  Though coming out much later than you’d think would be applicable to most people I found it a way to keep me afloat.  I’d been diagnosed with bi-polar personality disorder and told that I stand a very, very high chance of developing some form of schizophrenia before I hit thirty.  This happened when I was nineteen and it always hit me hardest, considering one of my biggest fears has always been loosing my mind.  That being said I’ve always battled deep depression, self-mutilation, substance abuse, rampant fears regarding the future of my sanity, and general "bad vibes."  This song came along in 2007 when a friend of mine made me a mixed CD of EBM, Industrial, darkwave and synthpop songs of which Chrome was on it prompting me to look into other songs by VNV nation.  This song spoke to me as though it were a friend speaking to me on my darkest of days.  Many times did that song snap me back to some sort of reality.

 

–RK

Log in to write a note
February 2, 2010

I love VNV Nation.