So, that begs the question, are you a nitwit?

First I’d like to thank Tabbycat for the whole Reader’s Choice thing.

Next I’d like to point out the irony of several things that stemmed from that entry.
First people assumed that I said that ALL people below 30 are nitwits.  The title of the entry was "If you’re under thirty you’re probably a nitwit."  Probably is the key word in that sentence.  Do you not know what a venn diagram is?

Also, pointing out that I am below 30 (as is the person who nominated me) and therefore a nitwit as well.  I pointed out how I didn’t fit into my classifications (which shouldn’t really be that surprising), but more importantly it points out that there are exceptions as stated that you are only probably a nitwit, not definitely a nitwit.

Third not understanding what an "average" is.  If the average teenage reads for less than ten minutes a day it can be said that most teenagers read for an average of ten minutes a day–again this doesn’t mean that ALL teenagers  read for ten minutes (in which case the mean, mode, and median values would all be ten minutes) what it means is that there are more teenagers who read for a small amount of time than those who don’t.  For example, if one reads for an hour a day and five more don’t read at all then congrats, the average is ten minutes a day!

Which brings me to the next point, everyone saying that they read for more than the average time–you are on, and have signed up for, a site devoted to reading and writing.  Why would you sign up for that unless you had at least a passing interest in reading?  So, it stands to reason that if you’re here on OD then you probably read more than ten minutes a day.

Also, I did not say that any particular clothing style made a person stupid, just that I felt it looked stupid.  Also "to keep jeans clean and in good condition."  That is one of the dumbest excuses for an action I’ve ever heard.  If you wear the boots on the outside they will collect the wear and "dirt" that would have befallen the jeans.  That being said, you’re claiming that it’s easier to mend/replace/clean boots than jeans.  I see this argument in waders where you’re standing halfway up your leg in water, but this trend is in everyday wear.

Another thing worth mentioning is how they see the whole "jeeze, you complain about Myspace and Facebook but you have one" "argument."  Let me ask you, how do you know something is useless and trite unless you understand it?  How can you say you don’t like brussel sprouts unless you try them?

Also, using any of those programs does not perpetuate ignorance than using a gun perpetuates violence.  Certainly it can have those effects, but it’s about how things are used not if they are used or not.

Perhaps most importantly is why these people feel the need to demonstrate themselves to someone else and make it a point to be offended by the implication that they "could" be a nitwit.  Instead they could take pleasure and honor in knowing that they don’t fall into that category and are set away from the common person.  Instead they do nothing but make noise.

Despite what you may think there was also no claim to the opposite (that people above 30 were not nitwits).  If you knew me you’d know that I see all people as stupid (wherein I define stupidity as willful ignorance) until proven otherwise.  All of the above being said I still don’t feel as though I’ve contradicted myself at all.  Certainly I have seen that people ignore what they want if it helps their case in starting an argument (not a debate because of the lack of structure).  I’ve also seen nothing that makes me want to apologize to anyone who expressed non-agreement with me.

As a note to the respect of Kati.Did and her saying that I haven’t said what I do stand for, I have many times–just not in that entry.

I’ve stated my religious/philosophical/moral stand here, here, here, here, here, and here.

My "political" stance here, here, here, and here.

Ultimately what it boils down to is I stated my opinion which by definition cannot be proven one direction or the other.  That being said it’s a complete waste of time to even respond to an opinion.

–RK

Log in to write a note