And In This Corner

Geez people. Take a stress pill. So much hoopla about whether OD is better or PB is better.

Kiss and make up.

Please note: I don’t go on PB. Wife writes there and I keep clear of her “journal”. But my understanding is, at least in principle, PB is a site for journalists. Not in the sense of commercial journalism that people do for a living by reporting the news. But more personal commentary on the state of things. Observations. Perhaps even fiction. But by and large not a chronicle of the daily details of one’s personal life. That’s a diary. Even the name Prose box implies a more literary intent. But maybe that’s because “Open Journal” wouldn’t work. OJ is orange juice. But Pb is lead on the periodic table of elements. No fowl. Just sayin’.

Now I fully understand that there are no rules to that effect. Most but not all of the folks over here use OD as a diary where they can share what is happening and what they are feeling in their lives as a part of a community. My “diary” here on OD is a journal. I do commentary more often than chronicle. When I spill my guts it’s more likely on WordPress where I can scream profanities out loud to the high heavens and even though it’s out there for all to read it just vanishes into the ether unrequited.

That’s ok.

The need to be heard.

It’s a big deal.

We can all agree on that.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 29, 2018

Myself and everyone I know uses it like they used OD which is as a diary or journal about daily life. That’s what the majority of the site is if you look at the front page. Just like OD there are fiction writers and such but the main function that is used on the site is to journal and document our lives. So it is not more literary than OD. It’s about the same.

January 29, 2018

PB, FB, OD, WP, LJ. It all sounds like secret code to me. Hmm… Ill just OD here. Pick up my carcass when I am gone please.

M
January 29, 2018

Prosebox was invented upon the death of Open Diary. Many folks are in a conundrum about whether to stay at Prosebox or to come back to Open Diary. Many people hold a tremendous grudge against Bruce for the way they were treated. Since I have a lifetime subscription, it’s six of one and half dozen of the other, because I don’t have to pay for either one. I think that will be the determining factor — if I ever have to pay, I’m gone.

January 29, 2018

Aloha…

In addition to O.D. and Prosebox… I continue to journal at EasyDiary as well…

January 29, 2018

I write on both, what a novel concept 😀

January 29, 2018

PB is peanut butter, so there’s that.

I don’t get why it has to be an argument. I tried writing at Prosebox, I didn’t like it. But I was one of the crazies who transferred over to In The Wire (who remembers THAT?) back long ago. I have strong resentment for what happened here at OD but it is what it is. One isn’t better than the other. I just didn’t like prosebox. I liked it here. So I am here.

January 29, 2018

Seems like there are three camps forming. A Camp: Love OD hate PB. B Camp: Have both, gonna keep it that way. C Camp: Hate OD, just here to make that real clear.

As a person who never used PB aside from giving it a look, I don’t have a dog in the fight. (Making a 4th camp?) Seems like something as vast as a WWW (World Wide Web) might have enough room for everyone to co-exist. Just sayin’. With starving children in the same world, I have a hard time getting worked up over this battle.

January 29, 2018

It makes me chuckle, it really is quite simple, if you don’t like it here or think you can get a better product elsewhere – leave 🙂 Unsure why people feel the need to come here and spend time, energy and effort whinging on a platform they say they dislike. But then I have never professed to understand most people.

January 29, 2018

I just don’t get the controversy, there’s room for everyone in this web. For many years I wrote on both LiveJournal (for free) and OD (paid). I used them for different audiences and didn’t feel like I was “cheating” on one or the other. And OD shutting down? Boo-hoo. Businesses run down, close, and liquidate all the time. It’s unfortunate, but it happens. I feel lucky that this place resurrected and that he bothered to save our entries. He didn’t have to do that. And people are bitching that they aren’t loading fast enough…good gawd.

January 29, 2018

I like it here. I don’t care about anyone else. It’s all about ME, I tell ya, all about me.

January 29, 2018

I like Prosebox, and have used it just like I did OD since OD shut down… although I had sadly gotten out of the habit even before the Death of OD so don’t write there very often. I have a lot of friends who didn’t like PB for whatever reason so never write there. I intend to make duel entries, the same way I did for quite awhile after PB appeared and before OD died. Of course, I’m sure in reality I’ll never write in either place since that’s been my usual behavior!