Half Time

Happy birthday son! What an accomplishment! Half a century and you are still here! How does it feel to be 50 years old? Yeah. I hear you. Was this what you expected? It never is. At least so far. But it’s a big day. Enjoy the cake and ice cream. That’s all the advice you will get from me.

So what now? I dunno. It’s up to you. Always has been. You have made (most of) the right moves. Made the plays when it counted. It’s half time at the Super Bowl. You have run up a big lead. 42 to 7 maybe. Good job son.

What would Bill (Belichick) do?

He’s the guy to ask for advice. And he is also famous for making the half time adjustment. What would Bill do? You won the coin toss and deferred so you have the ball to open the third quarter.

Would he play it safe and just play defense? Go conservative?

Pull Brady?

Or maybe he would run up the score. Make a statement.

Go for the kill.

What would Bill do?

I dunno.

All I can tell you is that the third quarter has been my best. My favorite so far. Things seem to have a way of coming into focus. And the stuff that really matters takes on a new meaning. It’s not the ring they will give you after the game is over. It’s about the next thirty minutes. And it’s 42 to 7. Good job son.

Sorry I can’t be of more help. But you will do just fine. I believe in you. I am a season ticket holder. I’ll be on the 50 yard line watching.

Go Pats.

Happy birthday Rob.

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2020

This made me smile. And I hate Belichick.