Letter From my Son

From: Rob
Subject: blood sugar
To: Dad
Date: Wednesday, June 13, 2012, 2:08 AM

it’s 1:46 AM. i am plugging away at work, answering emails. sadly, i can see i am not the only one. i see another woman i work with that is currently involved in a webex conference – probably with india. sign of the times…for better of worse, i am having a few beers while i plug along.but then, i get a small craving for a snack. i reach for a few honey mustard and onion pretzel pieces – they are pure delight. almost as soon as i grab for them i think of your father and his diabetes.i then think of the results of my physicals, which show a steady trend of blood sugar going into a bad place.i am walking much more than i ever have before in my life – 143 miles so far this year, but still find that i am treading water at best.then… i look at my kitchen and say to myself “some day soon i will own this”what the fuck is the point? “some day soon i will own this”someday the sun will expand and own everything.
where i am going with all this? perhaps just a rant.

ugh!

why do i always come to you as my source of knowledge? i think it’s because you are 20 years in front of me.

you have done such a great job raising me. thanks.

argh! life…

i will have to give you a call some time soon.

BTW. the rain has started to fall, there is a cool breeze out of the west (63 degrees at the moment) – it’s beautiful. there are 4 perfect weeks of the year here – the last two weeks of may, and the first two weeks of june. my birthday falls at the tail end – i love that.

back to the emails.

cheers!
-b

hello son

i love that late spring rain too / life is so sweet sometimes…

there is no escape / men become their fathers / women become their mothers / the DNA is passed forward in time / and we are left without a clue why or what the message might be…

i think about my father a great deal / all the things i should have asked him / i’m sorry / i didn’t know he knew so much / when you’re young you know everything / i didn’t know / i was so full of myself / i didn’t understand…

you make me so proud / i don’t tell you that often enough / i see how you live / and work / and take care of your family / your sensibilities / what delights you / what makes you crazy / your sensitivity / that last one is a curse sometimes / you already know that / i have always secretly admired people that lacked self awareness / it has been said that ignorance is bliss / a little bliss would feel good once in a while…

keep walking / just do it son / it’s the best council i can give you / and keep aware / watch out for the asteroid / i think sometime one can avoid it / it’s worth the effort…

thank you for coming out next month / there is so much i feel i need to explain to you / i know too much son…

and happy birthday / the next twenty can be the best part / things have a way of falling into place / the bigger picture emerges / and what’s really important becomes the focus of your life…

and that indescribably sweet soft spring rain / the laughter in your young wife’s eyes / watching the miracle of your daughter lily’s story unfolding / maybe even the thoughts and the love of an aging parent /that’s the point son / hold on tight to it…

love / your father

Log in to write a note
June 13, 2012
June 13, 2012

I noticed your line…..”Some day the sun will expand and own everthing”. An ominus thought. It’s future expansion is not comonly known but it will happen. However, you and I will not be here then. Nor anyone else.

June 13, 2012

“…you have done such a great job raising me. thanks…” and your response? I’m too teary eyed to explain my emotion. This is to be placed in hearts ever after.

June 13, 2012

beautiful xox

June 13, 2012

Thanks for sharing…. all.

June 13, 2012

wonderful letter! both to and from

June 20, 2012

There are many things I wish I could ask my father now.

June 22, 2012

nice.

July 8, 2012

I really, truly, hope to have this kind of connection with my kids some day when they have more years on them. I have it with them now, the honesty, the sharing, the easy exchange. You said “Keep walking”, I always phrase it as “well, you’re going to get knocked down, the only real choice you have is to get back up and keep putting one foot in front of the other. That’s the only choice.” *hug*

August 1, 2012

ryn – the picture is truly awful so I can’t possibly post it here. I’m sure sooner or later there will be a picture that is adequate so I can show off my ‘new do’.

August 2, 2012

ryn – the good ones are always taken. sigh.

August 8, 2012

my HR moment today was complete BS.

August 18, 2012

I wish I could print yours & your son’s letters, but know they are copywrited. Would have liked to send them to my sons. I never could communicate w/them very well. Knew nothing about sons; I was the youngest of 3 daughters.

One of my patients was the son of The Hills owner back in 1977 He ended up killing his grandfather and went to a Long Island long long term facility

October 20, 2012

So nice to we your signature. Hope you and yours are ok.

January 1, 2013

Fantastic exchange. Your son seems like a good guy.

July 12, 2013

Hey… Please let me know you’re doing well. A quick stop by here, please. I think of you often.

September 9, 2013

And you will always be my friend. Thank you! Catch a hug!!

Hey if you come upon this before OD shuts down, email me at red_runninghood@yahoo.com. If not… God bless. And thank you.. both of you.