The Prime Commandment

We come into being with a single mission:
We are here to run in a relay race. We  come into existence already on the starting line with the baton firmly in hand. Or more to the point, the baton is firmly held within us. It was handed to us from our parents. And they got it from their parents. From as far back as we can tell, it’s been carried in the same way. 
The baton is our DNA. And our sole purpose, our mission, is to propagate, to make a new copy of this DNA encoded message that is responsible for our existence, for the next runner in line, our progeny, to carry forward. And they will hand it in turn to theirs. And on and on following the arrow of time from the unmeasured distance backward over our shoulder to the equally clouded mystery ahead .
Every animal, every plant, every insect, every bacteria, all life is running, racing in exquisite synchrony, each one singing their stanza in their own unique voice, combining in a colossal symphony of harmonized DNA voices.
But why?
What is this cosmic music? In who’s hand was it composed? Set into motion? For whom was its DNA encoded message in time intended? What does it say? What does it mean?
What do they want from us?
The “meaning” of the message is beyond our ability to comprehend. We are left to believe that life is not random. Every behavior in every life form is doing no more or less than following their instructions to pass this message forward:
follow The Prime Commandment.
Log in to write a note
May 22, 2020

You put that so eloquently! 😀

May 22, 2020

@littleavocado Thank you for your kind words.

May 22, 2020

@robertleroy You are most welcome!

May 22, 2020

How strange it is to be anything at all..

 

I believe we are creates by Love to glorify and exalt Love.

Love is our true North.

Love is our highest calling.

Love is our prime commandment.

 

I like your probing questions. I have pondered these very things myself for as long as I can remember.

 

In my mind, the baton is a torch.

🎶 this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine 🎶

May 22, 2020

@ethel Thanks for your thoughtful note. It often feels strange to me as well. Love is the sort of word I try to avoid. It is intensely felt and its meaning is personal which I have learned is a volatile recipe for misunderstanding. Just my thoughts, I leave love to the lyricists. You have a much more deft hand at expression than I.

Thanks again for your note.

May 22, 2020

Universe translation: one song.

The angels are musicians who sing to the Lord.  You can imagine that death metal and scream-o gave him cause for alarm.

I have long since believed that the Kingdom of God will arrive in great cosmic song.

Because haven’t you ever heard a song you loved and wanted to play it from the amphitheater high up above for all on earth below?

Sound and light.

Light and sound.

 

 

May 24, 2020

See I don’t buy this. I am married and chose not to have kids. And I’m firm on that, despite having the means to spoil children and send them to private schools.

May 24, 2020

@metsgirl31 Thank you for your note. You have correctly  reminded me that by virtue of your elite status my beliefs about the nature of our existence do not apply to you.  I will try to remember to include a disclaimer for you in the future.

May 24, 2020

@robertleroy 🙄 sounds like someone is salty. You must have a very close relationship with your children.

May 31, 2020

Robert,
I have absolutely missed your entries. You have always thought about life in the most interesting of terms and I just love it! Good to see you still writing!

June 2, 2020

@bellamafia How nice you are to write me! I need to catch up with you. Kind regards!