The Wreck of the SS Open Diary

Well here we are: A small scraggly group of survivors who happened to be on the SS Open Diary when it went down. The captain launched a life boat and we scrambled on and are now looking around to see who else escaped the wreck. It’s hard to know but we think we may be few in number but definitely cold and hungry. I wonder about all the other passengers. Are they still out there in the water in their life jackets waiting to be saved? Rumor has it there were some other ships that were in the area that may have rescued them. Someone mentioned the SS Proserocks or something like that. All I know is I’m glad to be in this lifeboat.

But it’s interesting. The group in here with me is made up of mostly folks I never met on the ship. I think only three or four are passengers I knew. We are slowly getting to meet each other. I like that. Like any community, there will be those for whom you care, others, not so much. I have not seen any outright hostility break out yet even though the lifeboat leaks and our provisions are getting low. The captain has presumably set a course such as it is, but we don’t know what our destination is or what it may be like when we get there. I hope there’s a sushi joint and HTML. But I’m also worried about all the other lost passengers. What if we are the only survivors?

Okay.

I’m going to slip this message into an empty cabernet sauvignon bottle I have here and toss it into the wine dark sea. It was a good year.

Log in to write a note
January 22, 2018

Well, just howdy, Survivor. I remember your name from the old SS, even read some of your entries, not sure if I noted. I lurked a lot on the old ship. At any rate, I don’t see many others that I remember, but that’s okay. I’m up for new acquaintances.

ryn: Thank you for your note.

M
January 22, 2018

So many of the folks from the previous OD will never come back. They just don’t trust the Diary Master.

January 22, 2018

i hope theres a joint.

January 22, 2018

Like M said, many took the other lifeboats and will never look back. But I am grateful I’m here as well.

January 22, 2018

Clever entry. Like yourself, I am not finding a great number of those that I wrote to before. I hope when things go public a few more will drift in. Several have gotten themselves in a dither because the Diarymaster didn’t offer them the opportunity to be a tester. I hope they don’t get all huffy and stay away. He didn’t approach me either. I emailed him and told him I would like to be a part of it. He accepted. I’ve already got several people I write to that I didn’t know before.

January 22, 2018

Makes me feel a bit like the Skipper, but who wants to be Gilligan ??

January 22, 2018

Aloha…

I think it’s a bit premature to think that the beta testing (yeah… that’s what’s going on) is going to be the end result…

A small group of us to help the D.M. and crew to work out the bugs… before opening it up to new/old members…

Having said that… I really like this entry…!

Smiles/Aloha oe…

January 22, 2018

A three hour tour…

A three hour tour…

January 22, 2018

I don’t think we’re ready to rescue the others yet… too much of a leaky lifeboat at the moment!

January 24, 2018

My desire is that the phoenix that rises from the ashes of the old OD is a much prettier, (highly popular) bird. Although I’d be happy as a clam to keep it just this size -I’m quite happy with our little community as it stands – something tells me that Skipper DM wouldn’t be able to keep the lights on. And for that reason I wish him the greatest success.

January 28, 2018

*waves from the water* Spent a long time treading water trying to stay afloat cause nowhere else felt right. I don’t think our paths crossed last time, but with a lifetime membership under my belt it seemed silly not to come back.